Joomla Update Notification not working [solved]

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
JudyAnn
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joomla Update Notification not working [solved]

Post by JudyAnn » Thu Mar 15, 2018 8:39 pm

For some reason, our websites are not sending emails to our SuperUsers when a new version of Joomla 3.8.x is available.

The last email I received on a new version was 9/18/2017 about Joomla 3.8.0 from [email protected]

My management is not happy that we are 4 versions (2 of them Security updates) behind on all of our websites.

I will note that the default Admin account has been disabled and set to group Public on all of these sites. There are several people who are in the SuperUser group and none of them are receiving emails.

Does anyone know why the sites may not be sending the needed emails?
Last edited by mandville on Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: marked solved as per op

sozzled
I've been banned!

Re: Joomla Update Notification not working

Post by sozzled » Thu Mar 15, 2018 8:47 pm

Sometimes emails work (i.e. they're sent and they're delivered) and sometimes they don't. Sometimes emails are filtered by the receiver and they're placed in the spam/junk folder.

First thing to do is to test that your site is sending emails. There's a feature in Global Configuration » Server » Mail Settings » Send Test Mail