Update Sites turn themselves off

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
DavidBoggitt
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Update Sites turn themselves off

Post by DavidBoggitt » Tue May 22, 2018 5:28 pm

Hi there,

Why is it that some of the 'Update Sites' listings disable themselves, when they still point to extensions that are current and installed?

I turn them on, rebuild, but at some point some of them still disable themselves..!

Dave.
My website: http://www.davidboggitt.com/
Love and hate both devastate you, but at least love takes you to dinner first.

JAVesey
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Update Sites turn themselves off

Post by JAVesey » Tue May 22, 2018 5:32 pm

DavidBoggitt wrote:Why is it that some of the 'Update Sites' listings disable themselves, when they still point to extensions that are current and installed?

I turn them on, rebuild, but at some point some of them still disable themselves..!
I've asked this before and the answer was that they are disabled automatically if they don't respond.

I also asked if it were possible to give, say, a "three strikes and your out" type of behaviour but apparently not.

Probably not what you wanted to hear...
John V
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Uses Joomla 3.9.26 and PHP7.4.16

sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by sozzled » Tue May 22, 2018 7:39 pm

A couple of general thoughts.

1) I haven't personally experienced this issue (well, I don't remember it happening to me, no)
2) "Update Sites" information is stored in the database table _update_sites. A site is disabled if the value of the column enabled = 0