500 Error on Upgrade to 3.9

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
Ellsinore
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 10:50 pm

500 Error on Upgrade to 3.9

Post by Ellsinore » Sat Nov 03, 2018 4:46 pm

I have several sites that use Joomla! and only one of them is upgrading properly (auto upgrade in CPanel for security releases, so not sure why it's jumping to 3.9, but that's for another day.). All the others are down with a 500 server error. Past experience tells me this is a problem with the database or a plugin, but THIS time I can't get logged into the Admin section to fix it -- I get the 500 error there, too.

My server error log is only showing blocked IPs, which is no help.

Now what? I can probably figure out which plugin needs upgrading, but I can't "fix" a database before the upgrade . . . right?

I've reverted all my problem sites back to 3.8.13, so they're all working again.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 25875
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: 500 Error on Upgrade to 3.9

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:42 pm

Raise the error report level in global configuration to 'maximum' so you can see the error.

Use the Joomla Update Component, not your ISP CPanel to update.

Ellsinore
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 10:50 pm

Re: 500 Error on Upgrade to 3.9

Post by Ellsinore » Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:12 pm

Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:42 pm
Raise the error report level in global configuration to 'maximum' so you can see the error.

Use the Joomla Update Component, not your ISP CPanel to update.
Using the Joomla Update Component, as soon as the update completes, it goes to a 500 server error.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 25875
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: 500 Error on Upgrade to 3.9

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:19 pm

Did you get an error message?

Ellsinore
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 10:50 pm

Re: 500 Error on Upgrade to 3.9

Post by Ellsinore » Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:29 pm

Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:19 pm
Did you get an error message?
Nope. I was watching the progress and as soon as it hit 100%, the page refreshed and I got the 500 server error page. Nothing in the server logs to indicate what the problem is.


Post Reply

Return to “Administration Joomla! 3.x”