Default sort order for articles backend - revisited

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
raddersred
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Default sort order for articles backend - revisited

Post by raddersred » Mon Jan 21, 2019 2:39 pm

I know this has been asked before but I haven't found a definitive and recent answer, so here goes.

Is it possible to change the default article sort order in the BACKEND to list articles by descending date modified?

Apologies if I have missed an existing thread where this has been answered, or even worse, if this feature has been built into Joomla and I haven't found it ;)

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Default sort order for articles backend - revisited

Post by toivo » Mon Jan 21, 2019 5:15 pm

If you would like to change the default sort order of the articles listing permanently, you can do that by overriding the articles view of the com_content component at the back end.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator

raddersred
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by raddersred » Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:44 am

Thanks Toivo. Excuse my Ignorance but what does that mean please? I am not a programmer and don't normally dabble with Joomla code so what would I have to do?

sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by sozzled » Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:58 am

raddersred wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:44 am
I am not a programmer and don't normally dabble with Joomla code so what would I have to do?