Joomla not working after an Ubuntu update Topic is solved

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
PF4Joomla
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 4:33 am

Joomla not working after an Ubuntu update

Post by PF4Joomla » Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:45 am

Hi guys

I was told that this is due to a recent php update
Below is what I am seeing now. How do I fix this, where should I start reading, any article that would help me solve the problem?

<?php
/**
* @package Joomla.Site
*
* @copyright Copyright (C) 2005 - 2018 Open Source Matters, Inc. All rights reserved.
* @license GNU General Public License version 2 or later; see LICENSE.txt
*/

/**
* Define the application's minimum supported PHP version as a constant so it can be referenced within the application.
*/
define('JOOMLA_MINIMUM_PHP', '5.3.10');

if (version_compare(PHP_VERSION, JOOMLA_MINIMUM_PHP, '<'))
{
die('Your host needs to use PHP ' . JOOMLA_MINIMUM_PHP . ' or higher to run this version of Joomla!');
}

// Saves the start time and memory usage.
$startTime = microtime(1);
$startMem = memory_get_usage();

/**
* Constant that is checked in included files to prevent direct access.
* define() is used in the installation folder rather than "const" to not error for PHP 5.2 and lower
*/
define('_JEXEC', 1);

if (file_exists(__DIR__ . '/defines.php'))
{
include_once __DIR__ . '/defines.php';
}

if (!defined('_JDEFINES'))
{
define('JPATH_BASE', __DIR__);
require_once JPATH_BASE . '/includes/defines.php';
}

require_once JPATH_BASE . '/includes/framework.php';

// Set profiler start time and memory usage and mark afterLoad in the profiler.
JDEBUG ? JProfiler::getInstance('Application')->setStart($startTime, $startMem)->mark('afterLoad') : null;

// Instantiate the application.
$app = JFactory::getApplication('site');

// Execute the application.
$app->execute();

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7875
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Joomla not working after an Ubuntu update

Post by sozzled » Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:33 am

PF4Joomla wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:45 am
Where should I start reading, any article that would help me solve the problem?
You should start reading https://forumpostassistant.github.io/docs/ and then you should post the Forum Post Assistant report in this topic and we may be able to assist you.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

harperlala
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 5:55 pm

Re: Joomla not working after an Ubuntu update

Post by harperlala » Wed Jul 31, 2019 9:19 am

what error message?

ryansenn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla not working after an Ubuntu update

Post by ryansenn » Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:57 pm

What do you mean by this is what you're seeing? If that's what you're seeing in your browser it looks like PHP is not being interpreted, it's not supposed to print the code.

ryansenn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla not working after an Ubuntu update

Post by ryansenn » Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:59 pm

What happens when you type `php -v` and `which php` in your terminal?

PF4Joomla
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 4:33 am

Re: Joomla not working after an Ubuntu update

Post by PF4Joomla » Sun Sep 01, 2019 1:19 pm

This somehow got magically fixed and the site is fine now


Post Reply

Return to “Administration Joomla! 3.x”