Page 1 of 2

Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 11:55 am
by Pim Feijen
I suddenly got locked out of the admin panel of one of my Joomla´s (3.x).
I followed this tutorial step by step: https://www.[youtube].com/watch?v=gmCPYQSzGos (This describes how to add a new super user through phpMyAdmin - which I did). But somehow Joomla does not recognize my new added user.
I have a userType under the jos_user. They don´t mention this in the tutorial (it doesn´t even show).

Does anyone have any idea what the problem could be?
Thanks a million in advance

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 3:14 pm
by waarnemer
jos_user? sounds like an old install? userType is not in my table.. check your database...

If it is the correct database for 3.9.x;

Since you where adding a user instead of resetting a users password check the following..

In a 3.9.x there is
"vwxy_users" (holding the users and their passwords, where vwxy is a chosen prefix, note the user ID"
"vwxy_usergroups" (holding ID to the roles, make a note of the super user ID)
"vwxy_user_group_map" (holding the user ID and usergroup ID)

In the last one you need to add the user ID and user group ID.

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 3:57 pm
by Pim Feijen
Sorry, it says jos_users. And "usertype" is right under "password" in my database.
I do have the right user ID and the user group ID under jos_user_usergroup_map (as it is called in my database).
But still I can not login...

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:30 pm
by waarnemer
usertype is deprecated as of 2.5 (or 1.6 even)

So you may want to check if it is the correct db

There is a huge lot written here in the forum on the deprecated usertype.
A little too much to find out in a few seconds what would apply to your situation though...

(need to beat traffic right now ;) )

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:39 pm
by Pim Feijen
It is.
The site is old, but Joomla has been updated all the time.

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:42 pm
by waarnemer
It may then be a trace of the past... I just wrote edited my previous.. you may want to check..
Some hunch to the MD5 hashing.. can't be sure that's it, but worth investigating...

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:47 pm
by Pim Feijen
Hm, I´m not quite an databaseexpert... MD5 hashing...?

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 5:46 pm
by Webdongle
Use method #2 https://docs.joomla.org/How_do_you_reco ... assword%3F that is the correct hash for 'secret'

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 6:18 pm
by leolam
Rename your database prefix (use Admin Tools by Akeeba). The prefix 'jos_' is a security risk. For the rest Webdongle is correct

Leo 8)

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 6:51 pm
by Pim Feijen
I tried your solution, Webdongle. But then I get this error:
#1054 - Unknown column 'lastResetTime' in 'field list'

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 6:56 pm
by leolam
Pim Feijen wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 6:51 pm
I tried your solution, Webdongle. But then I get this error:
#1054 - Unknown column 'lastResetTime' in 'field list'
That is impossible when you did it properly..retry

Leo 8)

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:00 pm
by sozzled
I would like to help but I don't know anything about the problem website.

Pim Feijen wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:39 pm
The site is old, but Joomla has been updated all the time.
I don't know what that means, sorry.

If the column lastResetTime does not exist in the database table prefix_users, where prefix is used by your website, then this tells us that your Joomla website is either (a) not been properly updated to the latest version or, (b) you are looking at the wrong database table or table-prefix associated with your website.

If you would like us to give any more help apart from what we've already written (i.e. see https://docs.joomla.org/How_do_you_reco ... assword%3F), and if that help is not working for you, then I suggest you use the Forum Post Assistant reporting tool.

Image

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:14 pm
by leolam
Follow this if the issue persists https://www.joomlashack.com/blog/joomla ... ield-list/

Leo 8)

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:25 pm
by Pim Feijen
(I made a screendump of my jos_users, but don´t know how to attach this)
Okay, I guess that I have a serious problem here. The experts have spoken and my problem apparently doesn´t make sense.

Thanks a million for your time

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:27 pm
by Pim Feijen
Leolam,
As I mentioned in the beginning: I can not log in...

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:39 pm
by waarnemer
Ah.. I managed to beat traffic... and members already found the posts and pages I was referring too for you..
great. Good job!

(I so much love this community for the time, effort and patience they put into issue solving... they are the greatest!! other communities should take this as an example!)

It is hard for us all to determine exactly what is wrong as we do not have it on our screens.. so all we can do is do the forensics on what you can tell us. That is no problem but it means you will be presented with more than one solution and even other issues to solve along the way... But no worries.. we will find the cure :D

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:47 pm
by waarnemer
do you have FTP access to your webserver?
in the root there is a file "configuration.php" if you open this file it holds several basic settings of your site.

DO NOT paste the contents here!!

just look at the following settings:

Code: Select all

	public $host = 'host';
	public $db = 'dbName';
	public $dbprefix = 'prefix_';
'host' is the name/location of the database... on many setups this is 'localhost' but it can be a location like mysql.domain.com.. anything your provider shared with you.
'dbName' is the name of your database
'prefix'.. oh well we know that one now... ;)

if these are corresponding to the database your made your changes in, we at least now know you are targeting the correct database.

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:55 pm
by sozzled
Pim Feijen wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:27 pm
As I mentioned in the beginning: I can not log in...
We understand that. You do not need to try to login to fix this matter; you need to fix a problem in the database so that you can login. See the information that @waarnemer posted a few minutes ago; it may help you.

Pim Feijen wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:25 pm
(I made a screendump of my jos_users, but don´t know how to attach this)
Sometimes screeshots help and sometimes they don't. It's not hard to attach an image to a forum post but I think we would be wasting time explaining how it's done.

You can use the Forum Post Assistant reporting tool, if you want, or you don't have to use it and we will just have to continue guessing, won't we? It all depends on whether you want a real solution for your problem or whether you want a solution based on guesswork by using the little information that you've given us up to this point in the discussion. That's a decision we cannot help you to make: it's your decision what you do next.

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:04 pm
by Pim Feijen
Man, now we are getting somewhere (I think, hope!): The prefix (according to the configuration.php) is not jos but "tjgae". Is this useful?
It shows on top of my tables (Procedurer, in Danish)

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:10 pm
by waarnemer
resumé... the front end shows allright, you cannot access the back end...

well now we know you are working your changes in at least the wrong tables.

if $host is showing ok and so does $db you have another set of tables in your db with the correct prefix?

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:13 pm
by sozzled
Good to know that the database table prefix is not jos. So, can you now re-read my earlier post viewtopic.php?f=708&t=976117&p=3587755#p3587740 and use the technique described in @Webdongle's post (substitute "tjgae" for "jos"), please? Does that help?

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:19 pm
by waarnemer
no don't think so... front end is visible so that one probably works with "tjgae"

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:23 pm
by Webdongle
Pim Feijen wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 6:51 pm
I tried your solution, Webdongle. But then I get this error:
#1054 - Unknown column 'lastResetTime' in 'field list'
Leo is correct ... pasting

Code: Select all

d2064d358136996bd22421584a7cb33e:trd7TvKHx6dMeoMmBVxYmg0vuXEA4199
into the password field does not give that error. Perhaps I should have said method #2.1 d2064d358136996bd22421584a7cb33e:trd7TvKHx6dMeoMmBVxYmg0vuXEA4199 Change the Password in the Database

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:24 pm
by Pim Feijen
I have a primary database which contains the jos_tables.
And on top of the jos_tables I have some called "Procedurer" which consists of:
- Ny (Danish for "new")
- tjae_Terawurfl_ FallBackDevices
- tjae_TeraWurfl_RIS

All this is no part of my tables of my primary database.

There are two other databases. But they have a "ps" and a "mdl" prefix. And they don´t contain user tables.

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:32 pm
by waarnemer
then...if in your configuration.php the prefix is "tjgae" and your front end is working ok...
I think you are accessing the wrong DB in PHPMyAdmin......

what is in $host? is that correct?
what is in $db? is that the correct name?


By the way TeraWurfl is that something familiar for you? It is tech to determine device based content...

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:38 pm
by Pim Feijen
$host is correct
$db is correct

There are no other possibilities to change/add users than in the jos-tables
And, I´m sorry, but I do not know what TeraWurfl is...

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:42 pm
by sozzled
I don't think we're getting anywhere here. The fact that you have database tables with different prefixes is not relevant to the problem. If the problem website uses tables with the prefix "tjgae" then that's the only one you should be concerned with. The fact that you have other tables with other prefixes (e.g. "jos") is not connected with this matter. Let's be quite clear about that, OK? :)

Please stop referring to "jos" tables (or table prefixes).

As you wrote before,
Pim Feijen wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:39 pm
The site is old, but Joomla has been updated all the time.
As I replied, before,
sozzled wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:00 pm
I don't know what that means, sorry.
I invited you to use the Forum Post Assistant reporting tool. If you don't want to use that tool, that's OK, but I cannot help you any more without seeing the information generated by that tool. It's like looking for a needle in the haystack without knowing the size or composition of that haystack or whether the haystack is even on your "farm". Do you understand what I'm trying to say? ???

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:42 pm
by Pim Feijen
Would everything explode if i changed the tjgae to jos in my configuraion.php?

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:45 pm
by Pim Feijen
Oh I am sorry, there have been so many replies (which is great!) that I forgot teh Forum Post Assistant Tool.

Re: Locked out of Admin

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:46 pm
by sozzled
Pim Feijen wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:42 pm
Would everything explode if i changed the tjgae to jos in my configuraion.php?
Yes! Unless you know exactly what you're doing.

Please don't mention "jos" again.