Page 1 of 1

Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 10:20 pm
by TRMcElroy
I have several Joomla websites hosted by the same company. I recently changed to invisible reCAPTCHA v3 on all of the sites, but it's not working on one of them. The front end displays the following message on the contact form page:

Error
Captcha plugin not set or not found. Please contact a site administrator.

The "CAPTCHA - Invisible reCAPTCHA" plugin is enabled and set to default.

The site is current and running Joomla! 3.9.15, just like my other sites. I verified the site key and secret key and also regenerated new ones. Nothing seems to work.

Any help would be appreciated. Tks.

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:50 pm
by Rondeb
Do you have url so we can look at the problem?

Greatings Ron :)

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 3:33 pm
by TRMcElroy
I don't know why, but the error message is no longer displaying. Now when set to invisible reCAPTCHA v3, the standard v2 displays on the contact page.

ronnierice.com

Thank you.

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 3:46 pm
by bruno28
TRMcElroy wrote:
Tue Feb 04, 2020 3:33 pm
I don't know why, but the error message is no longer displaying. Now when set to invisible reCAPTCHA v3, the standard v2 displays on the contact page.

ronnierice.com

Thank you.
Hi Ronnie

I had this on a site a few weeks ago

Delete your recaptcha v3 for this site and create a new one

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 3:54 pm
by TRMcElroy
Bruno28,

Thanks for your reply. Do you mean to delete the reCAPTCHA v3 plugin? If so, how do you create a new one?

I've already tried deleting and recreating new site keys in Google and it didn't help.

Mike

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:08 pm
by bruno28
Not in Joomla, in Google, but you have already did it

Did you tried different positions of Badge ?

invisible-recaptcha-v3.png

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:49 pm
by TRMcElroy
I just tried changing the location from inline to bottom right and there was no change. The site is still displaying v2.

Thank you.

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:53 pm
by gws
I gave up with captcha, used hash cash instead and never looked back.
https://extensions.joomla.org/extension/hashcash/

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 5:10 pm
by bruno28
TRMcElroy wrote:
Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:49 pm
I just tried changing the location from inline to bottom right and there was no change. The site is still displaying v2.

Thank you.
At least you have a recaptcha, even if it is not v3 :)

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 8:50 pm
by TRMcElroy
The problem is this site is being inundated with SPAM through the contact page. It was happening on my other Joomla sites using v2 reCAPTCHA, but was eliminated with v3. I'm getting 100-e-mails per day on this site alone.

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:15 pm
by Rondeb
TRMcElroy wrote:
Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:49 pm
I just tried changing the location from inline to bottom right and there was no change. The site is still displaying v2.

Thank you.
You have select this at Global Configuration page
youhaveselect.jpg

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:33 pm
by TRMcElroy
Yes, that is the selection I have.

I just converted 3 other sites and they work perfectly. It's just this one I'm having a problem with.

Thank you.

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:44 pm
by Rondeb
I see this contact form and that is not invisble recaptcha.

http://ronnierice.com/contact/send-message

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:48 pm
by TRMcElroy
Correct. It is displaying v2, while it's set to invisible reCAPTCHA v3.

Thank you.

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:53 pm
by Rondeb
And you disable v2 plugin?

Greatings Ron

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 10:03 pm
by TRMcElroy
No, I left it enabled as it is on all of my other working sites. However, when I disable v2, the contact page displays this error message:

Error
Captcha plugin not set or not found. Please contact a site administrator.

If you go to the contact page now, you can see the error message as I disabled (for the moment) the v2 plugin.

Thank you.

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 10:41 pm
by Rondeb
When you test with other template wat happens then?

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:12 pm
by Rondeb
And have you look at users --> options.
There is also reCAPTCHA option.
user-options.png

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:19 am
by bruno28
Rondeb wrote:
Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:12 pm
And have you look at users --> options.
There is also reCAPTCHA option.
user-options.png
Hello Rondeb

Thank you for the information

I didn't notice this before

Have a good day

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 1:04 pm
by Rondeb
bruno28 wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:19 am
Rondeb wrote:
Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:12 pm
And have you look at users --> options.
There is also reCAPTCHA option.
user-options.png
Hello Rondeb

Thank you for the information

I didn't notice this before

Have a good day
Your Welcome ;)

Have a nice day.

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:16 pm
by TRMcElroy
Invisible reCAPTCHA is working on 3 of my other Joomla sites and all of those use different templates.

Under USERS:Options, I have it set as you indicate in your image.

Image

Thank you.

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:31 pm
by TRMcElroy
Update:

1.) The backend is set to v3 invisible reCAPTCHA.
2.) I have v2 disabled under plugins.
3.) The contact page is displaying this error message:
"Captcha plugin not set or not found. Please contact a site administrator."

I believe v3 is working, because I received no SPAM e-mail overnight under this configuration. I was receiving numerous SPAM e-mails when set to v2.

So, now I suspect the problem I have is the error message displaying and not that v3 isn't working.

Thank you.

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 5:49 pm
by Rondeb
You have not installed a plugin for reCAPTCHA of a third party?

Greatings Ron

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 7:51 pm
by TRMcElroy
That is correct. I have not installed a 3rd party plugin for reCAPTCHA.

Thank you.

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:04 pm
by Rondeb
If you want it i want to take a look at your backend send me then a pm with login.

Greatings Ron

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:19 am
by Rondeb
I have look in the backend of the site and see not strange things!

And in the frontend is the error away.

Greatings Ron :)

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 2:29 pm
by TRMcElroy
Thanks for looking. I appreciate your help.

I'm not sure what my next step is, but I can't leave the error message displaying on the frontend.

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Sat Feb 15, 2020 11:47 am
by techjonty1591
I had same problem but found another place as well as the Global Configurations where you need to select "Captcha - Invisible Recaptcha"...go to Components then Contacts and click on Contacts...in the top right corner you see "Options" click that and then click on the "Forms" tab and the very top option there is where you must select "Captcha - Invisible Recaptcha" and NOT "Captcha - Recaptcha".

Oh... I also have just the "Captcha - Invisible Recaptcha" plugin enabled and the Captcha - Recaptcha is set as "Disabled"

Worked for me and I had exactly the same problem as in the original post.

Good luck :)

Re: Invisible reCAPTCHA not working on one site

Posted: Sat Feb 15, 2020 12:55 pm
by bruno28
techjonty1591 wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 11:47 am
I had same problem but found another place as well as the Global Configurations where you need to select "Captcha - Invisible Recaptcha"...go to Components then Contacts and click on Contacts...in the top right corner you see "Options" click that and then click on the "Forms" tab and the very top option there is where you must select "Captcha - Invisible Recaptcha" and NOT "Captcha - Recaptcha".

Oh... I also have just the "Captcha - Invisible Recaptcha" plugin enabled and the Captcha - Recaptcha is set as "Disabled"

Worked for me and I had exactly the same problem as in the original post.

Good luck :)
Hello techjonty1591

I didn't notice this neither, thank you also for this

So, to resume, we have to set it in Global configuration, in user options, in contact options and eventually in form component options if installed

Have a good day