jQuery.fancybox error with system cache

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
Tempe_S
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 3:58 pm

jQuery.fancybox error with system cache

Post by Tempe_S » Tue May 11, 2021 1:36 pm

Hi there,
I have an error with jQuery when system cache is enabled in Joomla Global Config, does anyone know if I can fix this so I can utilise the cache option please?
When 'add to cart' is clicked on an item in the virtuemart product module the following error appears (firebug console) and the product does not add to the cart. This only happens in the index page modules, virtuemart itself seems to be ok as products will add without issue in the store pages themselves.

Error output:
Uncaught TypeError: jQuery.fancybox.showActivity is not a function
cartEffect mysite.com/components/com_virtuemart/assets/js/vmprices.js?vmver=661d8de0:95
sendtocartmysite.com/components/com_virtuemart/assets/js/vmprices.js?vmver=661d8de0:83
addtocart mysite.com/components/com_virtuemart/assets/js/vmprices.js?vmver=661d8de0:223
jQuery 9
product mysite.com/components/com_virtuemart/assets/js/vmprices.js?vmver=661d8de0:296
jQuery 2
product mysite.com/components/com_virtuemart/assets/js/vmprices.js?vmver=661d8de0:239
<anonymous> mysite.com/en/:880
jQuery 8

Joomla version: 3.9.26
Virtuemart version: 3.8.8

TIA

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20314
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: jQuery.fancybox error with system cache

Post by leolam » Sun May 30, 2021 3:29 pm

I suggest you post this in the VM forums since this is not a Joomla issue

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27833
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: jQuery.fancybox error with system cache

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun May 30, 2021 6:40 pm

Check that the System Page Cache Plugin is not enabled. This plugin is only usable on a static site.

Tempe_S
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 3:58 pm

Re: jQuery.fancybox error with system cache

Post by Tempe_S » Tue Jun 22, 2021 2:38 pm

Thank you for your replies,
I am waiting on a response from VM forums. If I disable caching in the system settings of global config the issue is resolved, so I wasn't sure if it was a VM or a Joomla error however, this slows the page considerably.
I have checked Page Cache Plugin and it is not enabled, but if the cache is enabled in system cache handling is turned on it still doesn't work.
Thanks again.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27833
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: jQuery.fancybox error with system cache

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Tue Jun 22, 2021 4:19 pm

What version of php are your running?

For php 7.3/7.4, enabling OPCache in php will increase code execution speed.

Tempe_S
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 3:58 pm

Re: jQuery.fancybox error with system cache

Post by Tempe_S » Wed Jun 23, 2021 9:12 am

Thank you so much for your reply Per Yngve Berg,
OPCache appears to be enabled, hopefully, that may suffice.


Post Reply

Return to “Performance - Joomla! 3.x”