Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
XeostheGreat
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:39 pm

Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by XeostheGreat » Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:05 pm

I have just upgraded to 3.6.3 and sections of the admin section is now not working properly. if I select Extensions > Modules it will display the list of modules - but if I go to edit one just a single drop box appears in the top left corner and nothing else is available. I didn't look to see whether anything else was at fault.

Fortunately, I have Akeeba backup and I backed-up before installing the update so just rolled it back and can use the site again.


The site has a YOOtheme template yoo_venture and has only Akeeba, ARKeditor & widgetkit as extras in the components.

any ideas ?
Regards
Last edited by XeostheGreat on Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8210
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by sozzled » Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:15 pm

I've spent the past hour or so updating several websites (all previously J! 3.6.2) to J! 3.6.3. I haven't observed this situation ... yet. May I ask, what version of Joomla were you using before you updated?

I'll do some further testing to see if I can reproduce the same symptoms as you and report back soon (within the next 15 minutes).
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

XeostheGreat
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:39 pm

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by XeostheGreat » Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:19 pm

sozzled wrote: May I ask, what version of Joomla were you using before you updated?
I was using 3.6.2 with everything working fine

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8210
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by sozzled » Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:32 pm

OK. I can confirm the issue but here's an interesting note; I can't reproduce it on a different browser.

My suspicion at this time is that it's something to do with the browser cache. More testing to follow.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

mbabker
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2236
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:26 pm

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by mbabker » Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:33 pm

It's browser caching related. Some major changes were made in one of the functions in the `core.js` file which in essence breaks this view if it has a cached version of the file.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8210
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by sozzled » Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:39 pm

I found the reason. The problem is related to Javascript and the browser cache.

The symptoms are disconcerting, to say the least, but the solution is simple.

1) Go to Extensions » Modules
2) Force a browser page refresh. In Firefox this is done with CTRL+F5 (see http://refreshyourcache.com/en/cache/ for more information)
3) Now you can edit your modules 8)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

XeostheGreat
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:39 pm

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by XeostheGreat » Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:40 pm

mbabker wrote:It's browser caching related. Some major changes were made in one of the functions in the `core.js` file which in essence breaks this view if it has a cached version of the file.
So if I upgraded back to 3.6.3 and cleared my cache, would this work ok? and would the site work for visitors ok or would they see problems too ?

Thanks for yours and sozzled's help by the way :)

XeostheGreat
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:39 pm

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by XeostheGreat » Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:45 pm

sozzled wrote:I found the reason. The problem is related to Javascript and the browser cache.

The symptoms are disconcerting, to say the least, but the solution is simple.

1) Go to Extensions » Modules
2) Force a browser page refresh. In Firefox this is done with CTRL+F5 (see http://refreshyourcache.com/en/cache/ for more information)
3) Now you can edit your modules 8)
Thank you kind sir - that fixed it :)

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8210
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

J! 3.6.3 update: forced browser cache needed because of Javascript-related changes

Post by sozzled » Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:00 pm

XeostheGreat wrote:... and would the site work for visitors ok or would they see problems too?
I don't know the answer to that question; I'm not sure how much of core.js is used on the frontend but, again, there's probably an easy solution that doesn't require your users to have to force a browser refresh at their end.

When I looked at the announcement about J! 3.6.3, I saw that the release was mainly about fixing a few bugs and adding a couple of minor enhancements. Normally, when I read these announcements, there's a link on that page to a summary of the release notes. I didn't see any link on that page before. One puts one's faith into the care that the PLT has for new releases but, nevertheless, one does not go where no Joomlaphile has gone before and update on one's main business site without testing these updates. So, the first thing I did was trial J! 3.6.3 on a test site (and I'm still testing, just the be sure).

I recall a few of instances when Joomla updates involved a Javascript-related change and it meant having to force a refresh of the browser cache. Kind of throws one in a tail-spin for 10 minutes wondering what the heck went wrong. It might be a good idea if, in future, Joomla updates run a script at the conclusion and attempt to force a browser cache refresh; I think I've read somewhere that it's possible to do that.

Thanks @XeostheGreat for discovering this issue. I'm sure that there will be hundreds more people who will be asking a similar questions.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8210
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by sozzled » Wed Oct 19, 2016 7:47 am

A further note on this issue. If your website uses a CDN, forcing a browser cache refresh will not work properly unless you also clear the cache on the CDN as well (as reported in viewtopic.php?f=706&t=937035&p=3436003#p3435999).

Further information on this subject is here: https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/issues/12458
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

schemer
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 10:44 pm

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by schemer » Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:09 pm

Whew! Glad I found this. I had the same problem today and tried an Akeeba Backup and botched it somehow and it wouldn't let me log in so I re-installed Joomla and started rebuilding the site. Then I realized it still did the same thing when I went to edit a module. I cleared the Joomla caches before I re-installed Joomla but the Firefox cache clearing did the trick but only if you clear the cache when you are on the module page in Joomla. I installed 3.62 and upgraded to 3.63 so I am unaware if the problem existed in 3.62. Just glad I got it going.
Thanks a million,
schemer
Thanks,
schemer :)

User avatar
sip
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:34 pm

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by sip » Fri Oct 21, 2016 4:31 pm

sozzled wrote:I found the reason. The problem is related to Javascript and the browser cache.

The symptoms are disconcerting, to say the least, but the solution is simple.

1) Go to Extensions » Modules
2) Force a browser page refresh. In Firefox this is done with CTRL+F5 (see http://refreshyourcache.com/en/cache/ for more information)
3) Now you can edit your modules 8)
Thanks worked for me in Chrome...whew!

Adnet
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by Adnet » Fri Oct 21, 2016 4:59 pm

sozzled wrote:I found the reason. The problem is related to Javascript and the browser cache.

The symptoms are disconcerting, to say the least, but the solution is simple.

1) Go to Extensions » Modules
2) Force a browser page refresh. In Firefox this is done with CTRL+F5 (see http://refreshyourcache.com/en/cache/ for more information)
3) Now you can edit your modules 8)

Didnt work for me

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8210
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by sozzled » Fri Oct 21, 2016 5:15 pm

@Adnet:
sozzled wrote:A further note on this issue. If your website uses a CDN, forcing a browser cache refresh will not work properly unless you also clear the cache on the CDN as well (as reported in viewtopic.php?f=706&t=937035&p=3436003#p3435999).

Further information on this subject is here: https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/issues/12458
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

Adnet
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by Adnet » Fri Oct 21, 2016 5:18 pm

But i dont use CDN

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8210
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by sozzled » Fri Oct 21, 2016 5:29 pm

The problem is that your browser has a stale copy of the JavaScript library (core.js) and you need to replace it! I'm sorry to say that how you tell your website to replace cached files in your browser is up to you.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

Adnet
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by Adnet » Fri Oct 21, 2016 5:34 pm

i used CCleaner that supposed to clean Java left overs.

I with try to clean all servers cache plus nginx to see if i have any results.

keitbt
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:29 pm

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by keitbt » Sat Oct 22, 2016 8:38 pm

I had the same problem on several sites using Chrome (which I use all the time). The problem problem did not exist when I tried Firefox, but I had never been to these sites before using Firefox. I cleared the Chrome cache, just files and images, and this solved the problem.

User avatar
vachatterus
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 4:32 pm
Location: Central Virginia, USA
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by vachatterus » Sun Oct 23, 2016 8:24 pm

Thanks.
Introspect, Pray, Meditate, Behave

User avatar
Paycheck
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:41 pm
Location: San Clemente, Ca.

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by Paycheck » Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:09 am

sozzled wrote:I found the reason. The problem is related to Javascript and the browser cache.

The symptoms are disconcerting, to say the least, but the solution is simple.

1) Go to Extensions » Modules
2) Force a browser page refresh. In Firefox this is done with CTRL+F5 (see http://refreshyourcache.com/en/cache/ for more information)
3) Now you can edit your modules 8)
Sozzled, I have read through this documentation and I am still getting this error. I go to modules, hit cmd + R on a mac to force refresh, I have even gone into firefox and cleared cache and cookies but the problem persists. I click on a module and the screen appears as the module and then it flickers and goes blank with the exception of the list box. I am running Joomla 3.6.3 fresh install. I noticed in your post that you were performing many upgrades to other sites, do you do any work for hire? I could use an expert to get this resolved as I am having no luck. Also same problem happening in Safari

Firefox ver. 49.0.2
Joomla 3.6.3
Http://chefjamie.com


Here is my last lines of my erro_log on the site:

Code: Select all

[23-Oct-2016 17:54:10 America/Denver] PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/usr/php/56/usr/lib64/php/modules/http.so' - /usr/php/56/usr/lib64/php/modules/http.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory in Unknown on line 0
[23-Oct-2016 17:54:10 America/Denver] PHP Warning:  Module 'magickwand' already loaded in Unknown on line 0
[23-Oct-2016 17:54:10 America/Denver] PHP Warning:  Module 'mailparse' already loaded in Unknown on line 0
[23-Oct-2016 17:54:10 America/Denver] PHP Warning:  Module 'OAuth' already loaded in Unknown on line 0
[23-Oct-2016 17:54:10 America/Denver] PHP Warning:  Module 'uploadprogress' already loaded in Unknown on line 0
Be nice we all aren't geniuses

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8210
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by sozzled » Mon Oct 24, 2016 2:08 am

Paycheck wrote:I go to modules, hit cmd + R on a mac to force refresh, I have even gone into firefox and cleared cache and cookies but the problem persists. I click on a module and the screen appears as the module and then it flickers and goes blank with the exception of the list box. I am running Joomla 3.6.3 fresh install. I noticed in your post that you were performing many upgrades to other sites, do you do any work for hire?
Yes, I am available for hire but I suspect that you won't need much professional assistance.

Some people are unable to fix this problem themselves because they use a "mix" of caching. Although the problem is definitely Javascript-related, you need to investigate why your browser is not receiving the updated file core.js. This could be because:
  1. your site does not have the updated [J! 3.6.3 verision of] core.js located where Joomla expects to find it (in other words, the upgrade was only partially completed);
  2. your browser's histories are simply not being overridden (yes, it's puzzling that you can reproduce the symptoms with both Firefox and Safari);
  3. if there is intermediate caching involved (such as with a CDN, e.g. Cloudflare) in which case you need to blow that cache away as well;
  4. if you're using some Javascript aggregator that is cached; or
  5. if your server continues to send a "stale" version of the Javascript library to the browser (e.g. if you are using an "alternative" PHP cache [APC])
Basically the symptoms are the same but the root cause might be a bit more tricky to isolate and remedy.

However, given the other error messages from the error log, I suspect that your website is not very "healthy" and it might be better to revert to J! 3.6.2 (the state your site was in before you updated)—restore your site from a backup and deal with any existing errors there.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Paycheck
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:41 pm
Location: San Clemente, Ca.

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by Paycheck » Mon Oct 24, 2016 2:27 am

sozzled wrote:
Paycheck wrote:I go to modules, hit cmd + R on a mac to force refresh, I have even gone into firefox and cleared cache and cookies but the problem persists. I click on a module and the screen appears as the module and then it flickers and goes blank with the exception of the list box. I am running Joomla 3.6.3 fresh install. I noticed in your post that you were performing many upgrades to other sites, do you do any work for hire?
Yes, I am available for hire but I suspect that you won't need much professional assistance.

Some people are unable to fix this problem themselves because they use a "mix" of caching. Although the problem is definitely Javascript-related, you need to investigate why your browser is not receiving the updated file core.js. This could be because:
  1. your site does not have the updated [J! 3.6.3 verision of] core.js located where Joomla expects to find it (in other words, the upgrade was only partially completed);
  2. your browser's histories are simply not being overridden (yes, it's puzzling that you can reproduce the symptoms with both Firefox and Safari);
  3. if there is intermediate caching involved (such as with a CDN, e.g. Cloudflare) in which case you need to blow that cache away as well;
  4. if you're using some Javascript aggregator that is cached; or
  5. if your server continues to send a "stale" version of the Javascript library to the browser (e.g. if you are using an "alternative" PHP cache [APC])
Basically the symptoms are the same but the root cause might be a bit more tricky to isolate and remedy.

However, given the other error messages from the error log, I suspect that your website is not very "healthy" and it might be better to revert to J! 3.6.2 (the state your site was in before you updated)—restore your site from a backup and deal with any existing errors there.
Sozzled, oddly that is the root of all my troubles, the back and restore on the control panel within Blue host. On the 20th of October at 10:43 PM PST, I was doing some routine updates for the client within the widgetkit and when I logged into the admin noticed the update that was being requested from joomla. I finished my updates and checked the site as usual then went onto yoothemes and checked to make sure the widgetkit 2.6.7 and the component ZOO were fine with this version. no problem they said. So I unleashed the update. After the update was done, I checked the site and noticed that one of my modules was not pulling information from the ZOO cookbook as usual and so I decided to go in tot he modules and fix the link. When I did, that is when I saw that flicker, white screen with the list at the top left.

I immediately cleared cache from firefox and refreshed, went as far as restarting my computer and no luck. So I figured I would just go and do a restore from an earlier version, which I was luck, the version restore was from that morning, so nothing was lost right? Well to my shigrinn, the update ran but the site then came up blank, nothing, white screen. After trying several more times to restore from two other backups from the 14th and the 8th with no luck I tried tech support. What a joke that was. So I have reverted now to rebuilding from scratch. I have gotten as far as re-installing Joomla 3.6.2, new DB, with upload of old data and I have a 75% success rate on the site so far. I just went into the Logo module to only find the site doing the same damn thing, flicker, white screen with a list box. I am not sure I get all that Java script stuff and or clearing of cache. So in this case I may need someone like you to search and destroy. It is just not my bag of tricks ya know?
Be nice we all aren't geniuses

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8210
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by sozzled » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:19 am

Best remedy in this situation is to revert to the situation you site was in before things went awry. Then take things slowly (one step at a time). There's not a lot that someone like me can do to "patch" things up. We can try, if you're willing, but it could take a while and we may not restore everything to the same level of functionality that you require.

Good to know, however, that my "deductive reasoning" was helpful and that we identified the cause of the problems. As we concluded on this, the forced refresh was never going to work in your case. You had endemic issues that need to be addressed.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Paycheck
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:41 pm
Location: San Clemente, Ca.

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by Paycheck » Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:37 am

sozzled wrote:Best remedy in this situation is to revert to the situation you site was in before things went awry. Then take things slowly (one step at a time). There's not a lot that someone like me can do to "patch" things up. We can try, if you're willing, but it could take a while and we may not restore everything to the same level of functionality that you require.

Good to know, however, that my "deductive reasoning" was helpful and that we identified the cause of the problems. As we concluded on this, the forced refresh was never going to work in your case. You had endemic issues that need to be addressed.
Sort of back to the drawing board tonight Sozzled the site was just not operating. I am not sure what the heck is going on. If I could simply do a fresh install of 3.6.3 with Zoo Recipe and Widgetkit 2.8 and upload the recipe files I would be a happy man. When I tried that last night and sent the response it was premature. The issue persists and the recipe admin never worked. This is so very frustrating I want to throw my computer out the window right now. Not sure why I did that damn upgrade, I know better than that. Even when I tried to do an install of Joomla 3.6.2 and Zoo 2.9 the system still reacted weird and was not running correctly. So I am looking at a backup restore form the 8th which is just not working at all. Not sure what to do at this point, This client is going to have my head on a platter.
Be nice we all aren't geniuses

User avatar
darb
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1453
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by darb » Tue Oct 25, 2016 1:22 pm

Paycheck do you have a good and stable hosting company?

I sounds to me also that it could also being part of bad hosting server conditions that halt the correct installations/updates etc. Have you check so your server and db fulfil all or better standard Joomla conditions too?

Just so its not about failing host related issues also. Check all conditions of your server when you install Joomla and see how to improve these settings if you can and know what to do.

FYI I have had not issues with upgrading J 3.6.3 exempt on some stupid Amazon accounts,,,that was server problems
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben

franknun
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 10:02 am

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by franknun » Wed Oct 26, 2016 6:02 am

:(
Good day
I have a related but different problem i have upgraded a number of my sites and apart from the problem mentioned above, which I resolved using Ctrl + F5, on two of my sites I had a different issue:
When attempting to edit a module, I find the module menu has disappeared, and there is some issue on the right had side fields
Please the attached - any suggestions will be hugely welcome
PS I cleared browser cache and tried it in various browsers - same result.

Thanks
modulesnip.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

apsilva
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 11:22 pm

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by apsilva » Wed Oct 26, 2016 11:38 am

Is you have any, clear your CloudFare/CDN/Proxy cache.

User avatar
Paycheck
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:41 pm
Location: San Clemente, Ca.

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by Paycheck » Wed Oct 26, 2016 2:26 pm

franknun wrote::(
Good day
I have a related but different problem i have upgraded a number of my sites and apart from the problem mentioned above, which I resolved using Ctrl + F5, on two of my sites I had a different issue:
When attempting to edit a module, I find the module menu has disappeared, and there is some issue on the right had side fields
Please the attached - any suggestions will be hugely welcome
PS I cleared browser cache and tried it in various browsers - same result.

Thanks
modulesnip.JPG
Mine was all version issues. This happened when I restored form the server a back up I had. The issue was in the DB the version number and frankly the version of the table structure etc. was degraded because of the time lapsed, I must have done an update which I had forgotten about. All fixed now by going back to the original versions before the crash and upgrading the site to the correct version then replacing my recipe database.
Be nice we all aren't geniuses

User avatar
darb
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1453
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Contact:

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by darb » Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:33 pm

Great that you fix it Paycheck! The Joomla 3.6.4 working like a charm and its very stable and secure..:)
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben

SJud
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 11:19 pm

Re: Upgrade 3.6.3 - admin now not working

Post by SJud » Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:20 am

I experienced this issue in Firefox, but not in Chrome. Refreshing the Firefox browser using Ctrl + F5 did not help. Clearing the Java cache and then rebooting solved the problem.

I cleared the Java cache through Java Temporary Files Setting (go to Java Control Panel -> General tab -> Settings under Temporary Internet Files section -> Delete Files -> ensure all 3 boxes in the resulting dialog box are checked -> OK).


Locked

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 3.x”