Extremely slow page load etc J3.7 / PHP7.1

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
ywncyber
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Extremely slow page load etc J3.7 / PHP7.1

Post by ywncyber » Sun May 14, 2017 2:41 pm

Hello all,

I recently migrated from Joomla 2.5 to Joomla 3.6 and then eventually 3.7

Also recently upgraded my PHP version from 5.3 to 7.1 all in the name of increasing performance for my testmysite.thinkwithgoogle scores

Unfortunately they are the worst they've ever been & despite all the image optimisation and use of JCH optimize pro I do, when I click any link at superluigibros.com (or just generally try to load it) it sends the request and takes a good while before it actually loads anything.

There seems to be some strain on the server too in terms of CPU Usage and entry processes in the cpanel - above normal for a site with as many visitors as I'm currently getting

Do you guys have any idea why? It's so slow its unbelievable. It's not the hosts though, I have another J3.7 / php7.1 site with the same host and it runs acceptably despite not being optimised yet. (that was a fresh install though, not a migration)

I do get this message in PHPMYADMIN
Your PHP MySQL library version 5.1.73 differs from your MySQL server version 5.6.35. This may cause unpredictable behavior.

Could that be part of the problem?

Any help appreciated. Thank you.

ywncyber
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Extremely slow page load etc J3.7 / PHP7.1

Post by ywncyber » Sun May 14, 2017 2:43 pm

WOW... noticed my disk space usage had gone up massively too.......