Website + Backend extremly slow/not working

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Sascha-RT
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Website + Backend extremly slow/not working

Post by Sascha-RT » Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:35 pm

Hey,

I'm running a fairly large website on Joomla 3.8.13 with PHP 5.6.36.
My website has a multiple components and modules installed, the major one being Virtuemart 3.2.2 and the newest version of HIkashop.
I'm using virtuemart as a product catalog and hikashop as a shop.

This morning, without any major changes/updates to the website, it got incredibly slow. With slow I mean it takes 10+ minutes to load a page. What wonders me is, that the pages eventually load. Front- and Backend.
That's why I'm a little lost. If it's a module that's broken, it would be only the Front-End.

I talked to the Hosting and they said everything looks fine on their end and it has to do with the 'efficiency' of my page.

Two things I noticed:
1. My error log got filled with this:
[13-Feb-2019 19:38:56 UTC] PHP Strict Standards: Non-static method modFeatureProdGridHelper::createThumb() should not be called statically in /home/**/modules/mod_vm2_featureprodgrid/helper.php on line 192
After hours of waiting I was able to delete that module, but nothing changed, beside the error log stopped filling.

2. My virtuemart and page cache keeps filling, even though nobody is on the page (checked analytics). Fills right up again, even if I delete through joomla or manually via fto.

I tried accessing pages directly, inside and outside of virtuemart, but same issue.

Any help or tip is highly appreciated, since I'm not sure where to search for next.

Thank you!

DaveOzric
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace