Eliminate render-blocking resources

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Forsh
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Eliminate render-blocking resources

Post by Forsh » Fri Sep 18, 2020 5:34 am

I am testing my website on Google Page Speed tool and one of the recommendations it's giving me is to "Eliminate render-blocking resources" and that's in the attached JPG. Is there a plugin or setting inside of Joomla that could fix this? It's the number one issue the tool is telling me to fix and the file it's talking about is at the bottom, the CSS file.
eliminate-render-blocking-resources.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

waarnemer
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Eliminate render-blocking resources

Post by waarnemer » Fri Sep 18, 2020 10:30 am

Google page speed gives automated advice without taking other settings into account.
Google page speed "sees" a site as static as it receives a page.

Interesting though that when I check your page in the same test tool, this particular "issue" seems solved.

Your link to the css file is in between the <noscript></noscript> tags so if my browser doesn't support scripts I get that one... if I do support I get it injected into the head through the bottom .js
Exactly same css...

Jokingly acccording to page speed you need to minify your minified css file :).. I mean.. don't go hunting all advices from Page Speed.. check against all other improvements done and also consider that all that is cached in a browser doesn't need to get requested again.