Large and slow database, what to do?

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
rikaryo
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Large and slow database, what to do?

Post by rikaryo » Tue Dec 15, 2020 12:49 pm

Friends I have three news portals and I have suffered from the optimization of the databases the _content (mysqli) tables are immense and consuming many resources, I have migrated part of the content to Archive, but even so they are still heavy.

Has anyone here experienced this and found an alternative to change it?

Will I have to delete posts in the future? I do not like to delete content due to the history that is preserved and has been widely viewed and searched in the main search engines.

What do I do?

GerogescuM
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Large and slow database, what to do?

Post by GerogescuM » Tue Dec 15, 2020 3:22 pm

Try reading this: https://mensis.ro/how-to-optimize-your-joomla-database/
You should also try a litespeed server and check if you have latest version PHP installed.

rikaryo
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by rikaryo » Tue Dec 15, 2020 4:20 pm

GerogescuM wrote:
Tue Dec 15, 2020 3:22 pm
Try reading this: https://mensis.ro/how-to-optimize-your-joomla-database/
You should also try a litespeed server and check if you have latest version PHP installed.