Saving in frontend not working

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x? Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
mvdgeugten
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 1:52 pm

Saving in frontend not working

Postby mvdgeugten » Sat Jan 13, 2018 5:28 pm

Updated joomla to 3.8.2. When editing an article in the frontend and hit the save button to save the article it ends up in a html 500 error saying it can't process.
Can somebody investigate what has happend after the update?
Last edited by toivo on Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: marked solved on request

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4982
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Saving in frontend not working

Postby sozzled » Sat Jan 13, 2018 7:13 pm

What prevented you from updating to J! 3.8.3? J! 3.8.2 is outdated.

There is no such thing as a "HTML 500 error": I think you mean "HTTP 500 Internal Service Error". What was the full text (or screenshot) of the error message? We may be able to assist you in finding the cause of your problem but we will need more information from you.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

mvdgeugten
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 1:52 pm

Re: Saving in frontend not working

Postby mvdgeugten » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:59 am

Joomla has been updated to 3.8.3 but problem still remains.

My website is ATC3 Center You can use the account: **** The Password is: ****
Use the sidebar (top left to log in to the website)

After logging in. Go to the top Menu "ATC Center" Select on the right the section "HOW TO – Creating scenarios" Select the first article "Cloud cover" You will be able to select Edit of the article in the frontend. But the problem is when you want to save it, it ends up in a HTTP Error 500

For FTP here are the credentials:

The ftp account is: ****
password is: ****

path to the folder of the webcontent

ftp://atc.3d-game.com/Web/atc3cms
Last edited by imanickam on Thu Jan 18, 2018 7:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: For security reasons, removed the credentials given to directly access the server and to access the server through ftp

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4982
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Saving in frontend not working

Postby sozzled » Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:11 am

I'm sorry but this information doesn't help me to understand what is the full text of the HTTP 500 error message.

I suggest that you enable Joomla debug mode (see https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Global_con ... ings_Group)

I also suggest that you set Error Reporting = Maximum (see https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Global_con ... ings_Group)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18794
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Saving in frontend not working

Postby leolam » Thu Jan 18, 2018 7:25 am

mvdgeugten wrote:My website is ATC3 Center You can use the account
Never, ever post your credentials to your site and/or ftp on a public forum unless you want to get whacked very rapidly! I have asked the mods to remove the credentials

An internal server error on saving an article points to mod_security rule blocking the action. Connect with your host they must be able to assist with this error. IT seems not to be a Joomla bug I expect

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
Member Joomla Bug Squad & Joomla CMS Release Team

mvdgeugten
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 1:52 pm

Re: Saving in frontend not working

Postby mvdgeugten » Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:50 pm

Hello Leolam. Thanks but i did'nt see an option to set the feedback on private.
I can't connect with a host since the site is running on private hardware (a NAS to be exact)

So what do i need to do, to provide information on what is happening in the front end. Since the explanation of the error HTTP error 500 is very minimal and just saying that the page isn't working and that the site can't process its request when i hit save in the frontend
HTTPbefore500.JPG

Then this is what happens
HTTP500.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mvdgeugten
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 1:52 pm

Re: Saving in frontend not working

Postby mvdgeugten » Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:35 pm

Ok i found the cause of why joomla is causing an internal error http 500.
In the general settings of saving/sending articles the captcha/recaptha option was set to on. After switching this option to none the save option was working again.
This issue can be closed and set to solved

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18794
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Saving in frontend not working

Postby leolam » Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:37 pm

mvdgeugten wrote:Ok i found the cause of why joomla is causing an internal error http 500.
In the general settings of saving/sending articles the captcha/recaptha option was set to on. After switching this option to none the save option was working again.
This is not a Joomla error but your settings error. You have not enabled "captcha" in globals and have created a re-captcha account at Google and entered the credentials in the respective captcha Joomla plugin

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
Member Joomla Bug Squad & Joomla CMS Release Team


Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 3.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests