Upgrade from 2.5 inside Podman

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
CrazyOldGuy
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Upgrade from 2.5 inside Podman

Post by CrazyOldGuy » Fri May 05, 2023 8:55 pm

I inherited a working 2.5 site. I'd really like to get it to 4.3x ..
In order NOT to perform open heart surgery on the working site, I spent some time and made friends with PODMAN.
I have a copy of the site running nicely in a podman container. The container is NOT web capable, so I can't go from inside of it to a Joomla website.
OK. I downloaded some 3x UPGRADE packages. 3.5.1 & 3.10.11 -- both say (2.5 to them) The 2.5 Extensions/Install screen allows me to specify a folder: /var/www/joomla/tmp -- Ok cool.
The install process (I hate magic) first looks for a file named "joomla.xml". After a few attempts (Podman containers are really great for snapshotting and starting over.) I copied the joomla.xml file from /administrator/manifest/files into the root of the package folder. Install from Directory /var/www/joomla/tmp/Joomla_3.10.11-Stable-Update_Package

500 - An error has occurred.

Installation unexpectedly terminated:Files Install: Custom install routine failure

Return to Control Panel

Call stack
# Function Location
1 JAdministrator->dispatch() /var/www/joomla/administrator/index.php:46
2 JComponentHelper::renderComponent() /var/www/joomla/administrator/includes/application.php:153
3 JComponentHelper::executeComponent() /var/www/joomla/libraries/joomla/application/component/helper.php:348
4 require_once() /var/www/joomla/libraries/joomla/application/component/helper.php:380