Core extension from 2.5 still in 3.10.12

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
pelacables123
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Core extension from 2.5 still in 3.10.12

Post by pelacables123 » Wed Feb 21, 2024 3:02 pm

Hi all,

First of all let me say that I'm new to joomla.
I'm trying to upgrade a very old joomla installation (2.5.9) to something that has not reached EOL :-)

I've been following guides and reading posts here and there and I've managed to upgrade the installation to 3.10.12 (an PHP 8!!). So, I started from 2.5.9 -> 2.5.28 -> 3.5.1 -> 3.10.12 .
After each upgrade I went to extensions and made sure none had pending updatesand that my DB was upgraded.
I also fixed/removed those extensions that stopped working after one or the other upgrade (k2, or hator, i.e). And I also removed some directories from the joomal installation becasue they were kind of left-overs (according to some posts I've read).

At this point, and before jumping to 4, I'd like to fix some issues I've seens and that show that my upgrade did not fully work.

My site now run 3.10.12 and everything looks ok, but when I go to extension, it keeps saying that there are no updates, but if I look at the list of extnsions I see a few that are still from 2.5.0 and are protected, so I have the feeling that the core extension have not been (fully?) upgraded ? (TBH not sure what it means, cause I find it weird that my installation could run 3.10.12 with core extension from 2.5.0). As an example :

Code: Select all

Cache Administrator	Component	2.5.0	April 2006	Joomla! Project	N/A	 	5