Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
misholini
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by misholini » Mon Apr 04, 2016 1:12 pm

Chamira Athauda wrote:misholini, what module is using ReCaptcha on your site?

Are you using it in a third party contact form?

If the issue is with a 3rd party extension , switching templates will not work.

You need to test if ReCaptcha is working using the built in Joomla contact form component. Try it on your template and on Protostar.
Chamira,
Thanks for your input. I installed the default contact form and it appears that RE-Captcha ver 2 works with it and my template so I presume the problem lies with the Qlform contact module I use. Weird enough Recaptcha used to work with Qlform and Joomla 3.4.8.
I am also having problem with Recaptcha and the popup forms: "Email" and "Ask question about product" in Virtuemart>Product details. Again this used to work with J.3.4.8 and Virtuemart 3.0.14. Would that issue be related to Virtuemart or Joomla?

User avatar
Chamira Athauda
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:15 am
Location: Sri Lanka
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by Chamira Athauda » Tue Apr 05, 2016 5:42 am

misholini,

You can read about my woes with another contact form extension, ReCaptacha 2 and J 3.5 on the thread here: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=706&t=914067

I can only think that the default version of jQuery now being loaded in J 3.5 has changed and these form extensions are coded for an older version.

May be one of the developers on the forum can confirm this?

The problem is not with Joomla but with these extensions. If you are lucky you may be able to get the developers of Qlform to update their extension.

I am facing a situation where I cannot communicate with them at all.

I am now thinking about using a jQuery management extension like this http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... integrator

And try to get the form working until the developers update it

misholini
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by misholini » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:00 am

Chamira Athauda wrote:misholini,

You can read about my woes with another contact form extension, ReCaptacha 2 and J 3.5 on the thread here: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=706&t=914067

I can only think that the default version of jQuery now being loaded in J 3.5 has changed and these form extensions are coded for an older version.

May be one of the developers on the forum can confirm this?

The problem is not with Joomla but with these extensions. If you are lucky you may be able to get the developers of Qlform to update their extension.

I am facing a situation where I cannot communicate with them at all.

I am now thinking about using a jQuery management extension like this http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... integrator

And try to get the form working until the developers update it
Chamira,
Would that be the case with Virtuemart?
Recaptcha ver 2 does not appear on registration form, email and question about product on product details in Virtuemart 3.0.14.

User avatar
Chamira Athauda
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:15 am
Location: Sri Lanka
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by Chamira Athauda » Tue Apr 05, 2016 12:50 pm

misholini,

Yes, I would think so.

VM is highly unstable any way, almost any Joomla or VM update seems to break it.

May be you can get an answer on their forums.

misholini
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by misholini » Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:07 pm

Chamira Athauda wrote:misholini,

Yes, I would think so.

VM is highly unstable any way, almost any Joomla or VM update seems to break it.

May be you can get an answer on their forums.
Chamira,
I have solved my problem thanks to VM forum. The bug lies with J.3.5.0 and not Virtuemart.
In case someone else is interested in this fix and has problem loading Recaptcha 2 in Virtuemart 3 - registration, ask about product pop up:
Edit line 63 in recaptcha.php, located in root/plugins/captcha/recaptcha/recaptcha.php:

1) Coment out line 63:

Code: Select all

//JHtml::_('script', 'plg_captcha_recaptcha/recaptcha.min.js', false, true);
2) After add:

Code: Select all

$document = JFactory::getDocument();
			$theme	= $this->params->get('theme', 'clean');
			$document->addScriptDeclaration('jQuery(document).ready(function($) {$(window).load(function() {'
				. 'grecaptcha.render("' . $id . '", {sitekey: "' . $pubkey . '", theme: "' . $theme . '"});'
				. '});});'
			);
The above fix has also resolved the issue for me loading Recaptcha 2 in other 3rd party extensions (Contact form).
I wonder why has this recaptcha plugin been overlooked in the transition to J.3.5.0...

hutson1
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 10:57 am

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by hutson1 » Wed Apr 06, 2016 10:49 am

"VM is highly unstable any way, almost any Joomla or VM update seems to break it."

Where did that statement come from? Do you have documented evidence for this?

It would be better if you refrain from pushing the blame onto third party components for the errors that the Joomla team introduce.

Even more amusing is that, yet again, it is a Joomla update that contains bugs.

misholini
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by misholini » Wed Apr 06, 2016 11:18 am

This issue has not been addressed in the recent J.3.5.1 release

User avatar
Chamira Athauda
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:15 am
Location: Sri Lanka
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by Chamira Athauda » Wed Apr 06, 2016 1:44 pm

misholini

Wonderful, thank you for finding this out.

I think that fact it was working on the Joomla Contact component threw me.

You should log this as a bug on the Joomla Bug tracker: https://issues.joomla.org/

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37029
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by Webdongle » Wed Apr 06, 2016 2:40 pm

misholini wrote:This issue has not been addressed in the recent J.3.5.1 release
Then please put a post in https://issues.joomla.org/ linking to this thread
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19529
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by leolam » Wed Apr 06, 2016 5:02 pm

hutson1 wrote: the blame onto third party components for the errors that the Joomla team introduce.

Even more amusing is that, yet again, it is a Joomla update that contains bugs.
Where do you have that extensive knowledge from that you think that you can judge this and make such remark with your very first post on these forums?

We (JBS) have resolved issues and not created issues. Stop trolling

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19529
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by leolam » Wed Apr 06, 2016 5:15 pm

misholini wrote:This issue has not been addressed in the recent J.3.5.1 release
Nothing to address in Joomla since this has nothing to do with Joomla since Recaptcha V2 is working just fine with Joomla 3.5.1. This is caused by VM in this case where in other scenarios it is caused by other extensions in the form handling. The Joomla Contact Form has on my test sites for the JBS no problems with Recaptcha V2 nor does it shows problems on client sites so far.

The code posted is just a work around an issue that VM has clearly and one should never hack core code to solve issues. Those hacks will be gone with Joomla 3.5.2

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37029
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by Webdongle » Wed Apr 06, 2016 5:43 pm

An official statement by VM admits they are behind in releasing their update
Till the time the VirtueMart update is released you can make the following changes in your site to avoid this error.

Open components/com_virtuemart/helpers/shopfunctionsf.php
....
https://www.virtueplanet.com/forum/gene ... d-solution

Clearly the error is with the VM code not Joomla's and (although technically not a bug) is a result of VM' current version being incompatible.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

User avatar
Chamira Athauda
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:15 am
Location: Sri Lanka
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by Chamira Athauda » Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:10 am

Leolam & Webdongle

I am sorry I jumped to the conclusion that this was a bug, I should have realised this was a workaround.

ReCaptcha 2.0 works perfectly on the J 3.5 Contact component.

The issue seems to be that several third-party extensions have stopped working properly:

RSContact!
QLform
VM

I am sure these will be updated in time so they display ReCaptcha 2.0 correctly.

However, some developers are impossible to contact. For example RSContact! forums are not monitored (as it is a free extension), there is no contact email, and I would have to purchase one of their commercial extensions in order to bring this issue to their attention.

It would be useful if the JED listing required that developers have a specific bug report email on their website and on the JED listing.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37029
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by Webdongle » Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:28 am

Chamira Athauda wrote:...
However, some developers are impossible to contact. For example RSContact! forums are not monitored (as it is a free extension), ....
Developing and testing extensions takes time. Users who benefit from the free extensions can always help out by reporting bugs and helping in the free forum.

Chamira Athauda wrote:... there is no contact email, and I would have to purchase one of their commercial extensions in order to bring this issue to their attention.

It would be useful if the JED listing required that developers have a specific bug report email on their website and on the JED listing.
They do have a ticket system https://www.rsjoomla.com/submit-a-ticket.html
Make sure you have an active subscription if you are requiring technical support.
Suggests it can be used for various things like bug reports, sales questions etc. and it's only technical support that requires a subscription. Although it would be better (imho) if they made the ticket system for members and had a separate email for other things. Perhaps they find it easier to deal with everything in one place ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

User avatar
Chamira Athauda
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:15 am
Location: Sri Lanka
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by Chamira Athauda » Sat Apr 09, 2016 5:53 am

misholini wrote: The above fix has also resolved the issue for me loading Recaptcha 2 in other 3rd party extensions (Contact form).
I wonder why has this recaptcha plugin been overlooked in the transition to J.3.5.0...
Does ReCaptcha work correctly with the tick box?

I made the changes and I am now seeing the tick box but when I click it I get another image challenge, like this:

https://support.google.com/recaptcha#6262736

And this means ReCaptcha is not integrated correctly.

I still attempting to contact the developers of RSContact.

Thank you again for the help you provided.

misholini
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

Re: Upgrade to Joomla 3.4: recaptcha 2.0 problem

Post by misholini » Mon Apr 11, 2016 1:05 am

Chamira Athauda wrote:
misholini wrote: The above fix has also resolved the issue for me loading Recaptcha 2 in other 3rd party extensions (Contact form).
I wonder why has this recaptcha plugin been overlooked in the transition to J.3.5.0...
Does ReCaptcha work correctly with the tick box?

I made the changes and I am now seeing the tick box but when I click it I get another image challenge, like this:

https://support.google.com/recaptcha#6262736

And this means ReCaptcha is not integrated correctly.

I still attempting to contact the developers of RSContact.

Thank you again for the help you provided.
Yes the tick works, the only thing i found it does not perform as it should is Recaptcha resize option in the backend plugin options. Recaptcha is stuck at default size and can not be set to compact. Thus recaptcha does not appear well in mobile view.


Locked

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 3.x”