Page 1 of 1

Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 3:45 am
by rbencomo
I upgraded my Joomla from version 3.6.0 to version 3.6.2. Just as the upgrade was almost complete, a message appeared at the top of my browser that said the following:

"The most recent request was denied because it contained an invalid security token. Please refresh the page and try again."

Should I be worried about this? Anyone know what it means?

Thanks!

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 5:36 am
by sozzled
It happens. It's happened to me. Simple solution is to go back a few pages in your browser history (back to the screen after you logged-in), then refresh the screen and everything should return to normal. It happens because there's a small problem with the Joomla session manager. I understand that this will probably be resolved in a future release of Joomla.

Nothing serious to be concerned about. It's easy enough to fix; it's just a one-time minor irritation for some people/sites that occurs immediately after upgrading to J! 3.6.2. 8)

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 6:32 am
by rbencomo
Yup, I just hit the browser back button a few times and returned to my Joomla backend, and everything seems to be fine. Now I feel better. ;)

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 9:41 am
by sovainfo
Did you update Joomla! Update first as instructed?

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:13 am
by rbencomo
I initially upgraded from 3.4.8 (?) to 3.6.0. No problems there.

I next upgraded from 3.6.0 to 3.6.2. That's when I saw the "invalid security token" message as mentioned earlier. Despite the error, everything seems to be working okay.

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:21 am
by sovainfo
Is that a No to my question?

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:26 am
by rbencomo
Isn't that a yes? I was initially 3.4.8. Then went to 3.6.0. Then immediately upgraded to 3.6.2.

Update, update, and then update.

NOTE: I initially started off with an empty folder and a clean Joomla install. I was initially given 3.4.8. It then asked me to upgrade to 3.6.0, etc...

All is good, regardless.

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:40 am
by sovainfo
No, it is a No. Instructions are for starting with j348:
1 Update to j360
2 Update component Joomla! Update to 361
3 Update to J362

You did 1,3 instead of 1,2,3 !
Instructions are there for you to follow. Not following instructions might lead to issues. Following instructions doesn't mean you won't have issues. Don't know why the instructions are the way they are, do know there is a reason!

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:49 am
by rbencomo
I did upgrade to 3.6.0. Then I did the "Update component to 361", but even after that step it still showed that my current Joomla version was 3.6.0.

If there is a Joomla version 3.6.1, I guess it's not immediately obvious to me.

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:53 am
by rbencomo
Just now did another re-install. Went from j348 to j360. Then did the component 361 install, but it still showed my current Joomla version as j360.

I then upgraded to j362 and the error message never occurred! So yes, that DID work after all! ;)

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 11:02 am
by sovainfo
Thank you for that feedback.

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 2:28 pm
by Per Yngve Berg
rbencomo wrote:I did upgrade to 3.6.0. Then I did the "Update component to 361", but even after that step it still showed that my current Joomla version was 3.6.0.

If there is a Joomla version 3.6.1, I guess it's not immediately obvious to me.
The update of the updater only updates the update component and not core Joomla.

There was a security tightening change in 3.6.1. What might cause issues is the Akeeba Backup Plugin (update to 5.1.4) and running php 5.3.

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 4:24 am
by hoanta
Uninstall Akeeba backup before updating and there will be no error.

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 8:17 am
by Per Yngve Berg
No need to uninstall. Disable the Plugin that do the backup during the upgrade.

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.3 installed

Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2016 6:48 am
by Aarthi50
I upgraded to joomla from 3.6.2 to 3.6.3.It is showing me "The most recent request was denied because it contained an invalid security token. Please refresh the page and try again".I tried refreshing the page but it still shows me the same issue.

Kindly share the link for superuser login.

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:27 pm
by ch2856
The issue is still happening in J3.6.5.

invalid security token using cache

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:45 am
by ch2856
Hi,

Why on earth, from j3.6.2-3.6.5, this issue has not been fixed? can't use simple contact form (inside articles) with cache on (just general cache, not the plugin). Every once in a while I am getting invalid security token...

Any solution for that issue? maybe moving to cache on a server level?

Thanks.

Re: invalid security token using cache

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:09 am
by mandville