Joomla 3.6.4 update gone wrong - Error decoding JSON data: Syntax error

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
bushwhacking
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joomla 3.6.4 update gone wrong - Error decoding JSON data: Syntax error

Post by bushwhacking » Tue Nov 01, 2016 2:42 pm

Hi.

I done a simple update, which I have done on many occasions and have now crashed the website and lost Admin access!

Earlier today I logged into Joomla Admin to notice there were 20 extension updates and a Joomla 3.6.4 update.
joomla-updates.jpg
I first backed-up the website then installed all 20 extensions and tested the site (all was fine)

I then updated to Joomla 3.6.4, and the error occurred.
joomla-admin-error.jpg
I no longer have access to Admin and the site is down, so I cant restore the site back to the old version!
joomla-site-down.jpg
What went wrong?

I touched nothing except do what they requested, and that's update the platform.

All help would be appreciated (I do have access to my host C-Panel, if that's any consolation)

Thanks up-front for any help.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

bushwhacking
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Re: Joomla 3.6.4 update gone wrong - Error decoding JSON data: Syntax error

Post by bushwhacking » Tue Nov 01, 2016 5:03 pm

!! Any help?

apsilva
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by apsilva » Tue Nov 01, 2016 5:05 pm

read viewtopic.php?f=710&t=937036 for cause and possible solutions.

bushwhacking
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Post by bushwhacking » Wed Nov 02, 2016 3:09 am