Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
ekpash0
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 4:59 pm

Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by ekpash0 » Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:20 pm

Upgraded to joomla 3.8 from 3.5, backend blank after upgrade.
PHP 7.0, 7.1

Help,
ekpa e
Last edited by imanickam on Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved the topic from the forum General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x to the forum Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 3.x

 
freeme
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:04 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by freeme » Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:47 pm

Same here. In my case from 3.75 to 3.8

Also with one installation on PHP 7.0 and with another one with PHP 7.1.

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3473
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by ribo » Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:53 pm

chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

stathopkostas
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by stathopkostas » Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:32 pm

backend crash after upgrade to 3.8:
0 Call to undefined method JAdminCssMenu::addChild()
I found incompatible extensions
- Admin Menu Manager
- jomclassifieds
Disable from database table “extensions” and Joomla admin works again

Nerovik
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:47 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by Nerovik » Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:26 pm

Error displaying the error page: Call to undefined method JAdminCssMenu::addChild(): Call to undefined method JAdminCssMenu::addChild()

User avatar
c a g a t a y
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Turan Land

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by c a g a t a y » Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:44 pm

Same for me....
After upgrading from 3.7 to 3.8 my 3 site go to moon >:( >:( >:(
Everything BLANK (frontend and backend)

Do not upgrade 3.8 if you still in 3.7.x


Any idea? Solution??

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3473
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by ribo » Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:34 pm

c a g a t a y wrote:
Do not upgrade 3.8 if you still in 3.7.x
If the problem was in joomla 3.8 why i updated many joomla sites without any error?
I ask again for anyone who wants help viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 .
Also a blank page has a hidden error. So you must have error reporting to maximum to see what error do you have.
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

User avatar
JAVesey
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2256
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 1:21 pm
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by JAVesey » Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:42 pm

c a g a t a y wrote:Do not upgrade 3.8 if you still in 3.7.x
This is poor advice.
John V
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Uses Joomla 3.9.21 and PHP7.3.x

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3473
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by ribo » Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:44 pm

stathopkostas wrote: I found incompatible extensions
- Admin Menu Manager
- jomclassifieds
You must report to the creators of the extensions to update them
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

Delfinov
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:22 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by Delfinov » Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:30 pm

ribo wrote:
stathopkostas wrote: I found incompatible extensions
- Admin Menu Manager
- jomclassifieds
You must report to the creators of the extensions to update them
Thank you. I've disabled "mod_sppagebuilder_admin_menu". Now I think, as to me without it to make site :-(

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3473
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by ribo » Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:35 pm

Delfinov wrote: Now I think, as to me without it to make site :-(
Or ask them to update the extension to work well with joomla 3.8
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

rileyryn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by rileyryn » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:05 am

I guess I must join the cue - I upgraded to Joomla 3.8 and now I only get a blank page when I enter my login details for administrator. All is see is the url: www.antigonishdiocese.com/administrator. I hope someone can help me!

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3473
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by ribo » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:09 am

rileyryn wrote:I guess I must join the cue - I upgraded to Joomla 3.8 and now I only get a blank page when I enter my login details for administrator.
Every blank page hide an error. Please set error reporting in configuration.php maximum instad of default that you have now to see the error.
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

User avatar
darb
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1659
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by darb » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:26 am

ekpash0 wrote:Upgraded to joomla 3.8 from 3.5, backend blank after upgrade.
PHP 7.0, 7.1

Help,
ekpa e
Its a 3pds incompatible error for sure.

Do you have SP Pagebuilder old version problem ("mod_sppagebuilder_admin_menu")?

They have the solution for solving this problem in their forum and support.
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben

User avatar
c a g a t a y
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Turan Land

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by c a g a t a y » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:31 am

ribo wrote:
c a g a t a y wrote:
Do not upgrade 3.8 if you still in 3.7.x
If the problem was in joomla 3.8 why i updated many joomla sites without any error?
I ask again for anyone who wants help viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 .
Also a blank page has a hidden error. So you must have error reporting to maximum to see what error do you have.
Dear Ribo
I cant run Forum Assist for all my sites
I came here step by step upgrading from 3.x series...
Until 3.8 !!!
What changed in 3.8....???

User avatar
Hackwar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3788
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: NRW - Germany
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by Hackwar » Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:37 am

c a g a t a y wrote:
ribo wrote:
c a g a t a y wrote:
Do not upgrade 3.8 if you still in 3.7.x
If the problem was in joomla 3.8 why i updated many joomla sites without any error?
I ask again for anyone who wants help viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 .
Also a blank page has a hidden error. So you must have error reporting to maximum to see what error do you have.
Dear Ribo
I cant run Forum Assist for all my sites
I came here step by step upgrading from 3.x series...
Until 3.8 !!!
What changed in 3.8....???
Joomla 3.8 did not change anything that should break your site. However, it seems as if you are using a third party extension that uses the Joomla code in an unsupported way and while that might have worked in the past, it now fails. Identify the extension, go to its developer and ask for a way to fix it or disable the extension. Considering the amount of responses here and the number of updates out there, Joomla 3.8 can not really be blamed here.
god doesn't play dice with the universe. not after that drunken night with the devil where he lost classical mechanics in a game of craps.

Since the creation of the Internet, the Earth's rotation has been fueled, primarily, by the collective spinning of English teachers in their graves.

barryPal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:05 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by barryPal » Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:51 am

Same problems 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Get

Error displaying the error page: Call to undefined method JAdminCssMenu::addChild(): Call to undefined method JAdminCssMenu::addChild()

when update complete & when I attempt to log in to back end - do not even see login !!!

Front End seems fine !!!!

User avatar
c a g a t a y
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Turan Land

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by c a g a t a y » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:02 am

Hackwar wrote:
c a g a t a y wrote:
Joomla 3.8 did not change anything that should break your site. However, it seems as if you are using a third party extension that uses the Joomla code in an unsupported way and while that might have worked in the past, it now fails. Identify the extension, go to its developer and ask for a way to fix it or disable the extension. Considering the amount of responses here and the number of updates out there, Joomla 3.8 can not really be blamed here.
Does anyone see most people knocked the wall with 3.8...Doesn't it?

User avatar
c a g a t a y
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Turan Land

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by c a g a t a y » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:08 am

And also
Everyone use Joomla with THIRD PARTY EXTENSIONs
I dont know anyone who use joomla as pure/mere core extensions...
I am using many third party extensions and while using them I upgraded joomla from 3.0 to 3.7
no problem occured until 3.8
Do you understant me?

User avatar
Hackwar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3788
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: NRW - Germany
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by Hackwar » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:10 am

c a g a t a y wrote:
Hackwar wrote:
c a g a t a y wrote:
Joomla 3.8 did not change anything that should break your site. However, it seems as if you are using a third party extension that uses the Joomla code in an unsupported way and while that might have worked in the past, it now fails. Identify the extension, go to its developer and ask for a way to fix it or disable the extension. Considering the amount of responses here and the number of updates out there, Joomla 3.8 can not really be blamed here.
Does anyone see most people knocked the wall with 3.8...Doesn't it?
I don't really understand what you mean. If you think that the 25 postings in here are hinting at a general problem, then you should set that into relation to the thousands of updates that were already made and that went flawlessly.
god doesn't play dice with the universe. not after that drunken night with the devil where he lost classical mechanics in a game of craps.

Since the creation of the Internet, the Earth's rotation has been fueled, primarily, by the collective spinning of English teachers in their graves.

User avatar
Hackwar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3788
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: NRW - Germany
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by Hackwar » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:14 am

c a g a t a y wrote:And also
Everyone use Joomla with THIRD PARTY EXTENSIONs
I dont know anyone who use joomla as pure/mere core extensions...
I am using many third party extensions and while using them I upgraded joomla from 3.0 to 3.7
no problem occured until 3.8
Do you understant me?
Nobody is saying that you shouldn't use third party extensions. But there are good extensions that use the Joomla code in a supported way and there are extensions that try to be clever and hack their way around the Joomla code, which results in issues like this. If your car mechanic messes up your car, you wouldn't blame the car manufacturer for it, would you? Go to the people that created the issue by using the Joomla code in an unsupported way.
god doesn't play dice with the universe. not after that drunken night with the devil where he lost classical mechanics in a game of craps.

Since the creation of the Internet, the Earth's rotation has been fueled, primarily, by the collective spinning of English teachers in their graves.

User avatar
DV-admin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:24 am
Location: Genova
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by DV-admin » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:15 am

I also have problems, I started a new post but I wanted to add this to the cue because I only have 1 third party extention and it does not seem to be the problem. The website is only a week old and is still in production.


Front end:
Fatal error: Cannot declare class JModuleHelper, because the name is already in use in ../public_html/plugins/system/t3/includes/joomla30/modulehelper.php on line 19

Backend: 0 Call to undefined method JModuleHelper::isAdminMultilang()
../public_html/administrator/components/com_menus/controller.php:34
Last edited by DV-admin on Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9556
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by sozzled » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:25 am

c a g a t a y wrote:... no problem occured until 3.8 ...
I'm sorry but I recall having several exchanges with you about a number of "problems" that you've had and, in most of those cases, you attempted to shift the responsibility for creating the conditions and for causing those problems on to everyone else. Sorry, but I find this statement, that you had "no problem" until J! 3.8, impossible to reconcile to the events that I still recall quite vividly.

And, for your peace of mind, while it is not necessarily true that every Joomla website uses (or is required to use) third-party extensions—with the possible exception of Akeeba Backup—less than 24 hours after the release of J! 3.8 over 2.2% of all websites (using Joomla since J! 3.5.0) have installed or updated to J! 3.8.0! The take-up rate of J! 3.8.0, within the first day of its release, has been quite phenomenal. I've contacts a few friends and colleagues and not one of them has yet encountered any difficulties with the update or with the "after effects".

It's unfortunate that you have had a litany of problems—an endless run of problems—with Joomla and I feel sorry for you. What would you like us to do about your problems? ???
Last edited by sozzled on Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9556
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by sozzled » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:26 am

@DV-admin: your problem is caused by an error with the T3 framework plugin. Please report your issue to the developers: Joomlart (I think).
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9556
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by sozzled » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:33 am

c a g a t a y wrote:I cant run Forum Assist for all my sites.
Are you, perhaps, using Akeeba Admin Tools Pro? See viewtopic.php?f=710&t=954817#p3492971 for a possible explanation as to why you may not be able to run the FPA tool on your websites.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3473
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by ribo » Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:59 am

barryPal wrote:Same problems 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Get

Error displaying the error page: Call to undefined method JAdminCssMenu::addChild(): Call to undefined method JAdminCssMenu::addChild()

when update complete & when I attempt to log in to back end - do not even see login !!!

Front End seems fine !!!!
Please check viewtopic.php?f=710&t=954799#p3492955
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

campolide
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:42 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by campolide » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:36 pm

stathopkostas wrote: Disable from database table “extensions” and Joomla admin works again
Thanks. But HOW do I disable it from database table?

gws
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4164
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: South coast, UK
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by gws » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:58 pm

Use phpmyadmin (in your hosting cpanel / or equivalent). Choose your db, then find the xxx_extension table find the extension you want to disable and change the enabled field from a 1 to a 0, to edit a field use the pencil icon at the beginning of the field list. Dont forget to save at the bottom of the edit page.

campolide
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:42 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by campolide » Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:49 pm

gws wrote:Use phpmyadmin (in your hosting cpanel / or equivalent). Choose your db, then find the xxx_extension table find the extension you want to disable and change the enabled field from a 1 to a 0, to edit a field use the pencil icon at the beginning of the field list. Dont forget to save at the bottom of the edit page.
Works great. I've disabled SP Page Builder, and problem is solved.
Thank you gws.

gws
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4164
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: South coast, UK
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.8 Upgrade

Post by gws » Thu Sep 21, 2017 6:57 am

your welcome

 

Locked

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 3.x”