Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x? Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
Skunka
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:37 pm

Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by Skunka » Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:43 pm

After updating joomla from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0, there seems to be a problem with the Backend.. I could see the login page but after signing, empty white screen came up, any idea?

Tom Capa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:06 pm

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by Tom Capa » Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:40 pm

me too!

User avatar
shanDB
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:31 am

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by shanDB » Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:43 pm

me too.. Worst upgrade ever.. I just broke a bunch of websites..

Skunka
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by Skunka » Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:52 pm

I'm trying to disable some extensions in the database.. do you use k2 or Seblod? trying to figure out what could be in common between our websites..

User avatar
shanDB
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:31 am

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by shanDB » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:01 am

I use K2 for all my sites..

I've also noticed that all my broken sites are hosted with Siteground. Unusual that they have a problem such as this.

All my other joomla sites not hosted with siteground seemed to have dodged a bullet and work fine (and they run K2 as well, so it seems the problem is not tied specifically to K2 sites)

I've submitted a support ticket to siteground, and will report back here if I find any useful info.

User avatar
shanDB
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:31 am

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by shanDB » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:06 am

thinking on other extensions that I use on all my (now broken) sites:

Akeeba
T3
K2
JCE
RS Forms Pro
cache cleaner (no numbers)

All hosted with Siteground

7701707
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:04 am

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by 7701707 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:10 am

I am having the same problem ....how can I go back to the older version below is the error I am seeing

Argument 1 passed to Joomla\CMS\Component\Router\Rules\MenuRules::__construct() must be an instance of Joomla\CMS\Component\Router\RouterView, instance of ContactRouter given,

User avatar
shanDB
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:31 am

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by shanDB » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:06 am

7701707 wrote:I am having the same problem ....how can I go back to the older version below is the error I am seeing
Do you use Akeeba? Taken any back ups lately?

siamnaulak
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:18 am

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by siamnaulak » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:34 am

I face the same problem and what I did was, I FTP Joomla 3.7.5 and extract the files and backend is back again.
Last edited by siamnaulak on Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

7701707
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:04 am

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by 7701707 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:35 am

No I did not use Akeeba

mdfavionics
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 11:41 pm

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by mdfavionics » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:38 am

Similar problem except I lost my front end index page. The message displayed was "Direct Access to this location is not allowed."

I rebuilt the site back to the previous version from an Akeeba backup and I won't try an upgrade until this issue is solved.

The failed site is quite busy with plenty of extensions. It is hosted with Liquid Web. I need to try an update on a secondary domain using the original Joomla site's data.

I did the update on some simple sites hosted locally on a CentOS7 server with Webmin. All of them (4) updated fine.

Les Bell
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:00 pm

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by Les Bell » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:43 am

siamnaulak wrote:I face the same problem and what I did was, I FTP Joomla 3.7.5 and extract the files and backend is back again.
I'm in a similar position, with a very vanilla Joomla setup. Just to clarify: did you upload the Joomla_3.7.5-Stable-Full_Package tar or zip file and just extract the files for the previous version? And that brought your site back to life again?

--- Les

Skunka
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by Skunka » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:06 pm

Okay, here is what I did to solve the issue:

1) Open your extensions table in the database. (you must back it up)
2) Disable all 3rd party extensions except for Joomla default ones.
3) Try to log in you Backend again.
4) Re-enable the extensions one by one till you get to what is causing the issue.
5) Bottom line: Update all extensions just before updating Joomla.


Good luck

Tom Capa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:06 pm

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by Tom Capa » Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:10 pm

Skunka wrote:Okay, here is what I did to solve the issue:

1) Open your extensions table in the database. (you must back it up)
2) Disable all 3rd party extensions except for Joomla default ones.
3) Try to log in you Backend again.
4) Re-enable the extensions one by one till you get to what is causing the issue.
5) Bottom line: Update all extensions just before updating Joomla.


Good luck
how can I access to the database? you mean the cPanel or PHPmyadmin?

Skunka
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by Skunka » Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:02 pm

PHPmyadmin

User avatar
dolmenhir
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by dolmenhir » Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:09 pm

Hi,

Same problem for me on 1 website (no problem on dozens).
No problem on front-end, just on backend sending me a 500 error after login.

Upgrading from 3.7.4 to 3.8

Lot of same third party extensions are used on other websites whitout problem, like :
- akeeba backup
- akeeba admin tools
- acymailing
- sp page builder
- JCE
- Nextend system
- smart slider 3

I will try to deactivate theses third party extensions, one by one from database.
Wait, hope and see...

User avatar
dolmenhir
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by dolmenhir » Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:16 pm

I have fix my website.

I have deactivated the mod "SP Page Builder admin menu" and now i can access to the backend.

My SP page builder is an older version (2.1)
I will upgrade it to the last version and try to reactivate the admin menu.

User avatar
dolmenhir
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by dolmenhir » Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:20 pm

dolmenhir wrote: I will upgrade it to the last version and try to reactivate the admin menu.
All it's ok after the upgrade.

Try to deactivate first the third party extensions which interact with the administrator environnement.

Maybe theses informations will help other to solve their problems.

7701707
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:04 am

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by 7701707 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:10 pm

I found out where the problem is

I will update soon but for sure it is coming from the library folder

exactly from third parties add-ons

DHoeschen
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:45 pm

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by DHoeschen » Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:31 am

7701707 wrote:I will update soon but for sure it is coming from the library folder

Normally 3rd party components don't write into the library folder.


I had the same problem with 3.8 and 2 older sites updated from 2.5 a year ago. :'(

Erase the joomla libraries/cms, ibraries/joomla and, libraries/src folder and replace them by the folders from the original 3.8 version.

I am pretty sure this will do the job. 8)

lawrencewence
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 10:33 am

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by lawrencewence » Thu Sep 21, 2017 12:39 pm

Erase the joomla libraries/cms, ibraries/joomla and, libraries/src folder and replace them by the folders from the original 3.8 version.


Best tip ever!!! Thanks, that did the trick for me. It's impossible to find out which folders have been manipulated by some outdated plugins (long history of joomla installation), so this was really helpful!!

:D

User avatar
sohrab330
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:20 pm
Location: TX, US
Contact:

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by sohrab330 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:02 pm

This update is not good when it disables the backend.
I have SP page builder as well.
I would suggest enabling the debugging mode to discover what else beside Sp page builder can cause a problem.
Last edited by sohrab330 on Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sohrab330
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:20 pm
Location: TX, US
Contact:

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by sohrab330 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:35 pm

For me it was the SP page builder Module! I hope it helps others

mikerotec
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:08 pm

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by mikerotec » Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:19 pm

I dont have SP page builder, but DO have this issue. ALL of my extensions are running the very latest updates .

"Error 0 Call to undefined method JadminCssMenu::AddChild()"

User avatar
sohrab330
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:20 pm
Location: TX, US
Contact:

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by sohrab330 » Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:49 pm

mikerotec wrote:I dont have SP page builder, but DO have this issue. ALL of my extensions are running the very latest updates .

"Error 0 Call to undefined method JadminCssMenu::AddChild()"
did you try to cancel all extensions? you have to do it one by one though from phpmyadmin and put the value to 0

User avatar
sohrab330
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:20 pm
Location: TX, US
Contact:

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by sohrab330 » Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:51 pm

After this update I lost my recaptcha ability for everything.
I wish I had never updated. I read the info and understood it is not a big update. In this update they have played with urls , maybe that's the problem

mikerotec
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:08 pm

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by mikerotec » Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:22 pm

IMO they should have saved the ROUTER CHANGES for version 4.0

GIVE US A STABLE JOOMLA FOR A WHILE, PLEASE!

RonC3331
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:47 pm

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by RonC3331 » Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:58 pm

DHoeschen wrote:
7701707 wrote:I will update soon but for sure it is coming from the library folder

Normally 3rd party components don't write into the library folder.


I had the same problem with 3.8 and 2 older sites updated from 2.5 a year ago. :'(

Erase the joomla libraries/cms, ibraries/joomla and, libraries/src folder and replace them by the folders from the original 3.8 version.

I am pretty sure this will do the job. 8)
Could I do this prior to the updating to 3.8? Then run the update normally...

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 5300
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by sozzled » Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:24 pm

Skunka wrote:After updating joomla from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0, there seems to be a problem with the Backend.. I could see the login page but after signing, empty white screen came up, any idea?
This is the only part of this entire "me too" topic that I will be responding to:
Skunka wrote:Okay, here is what I did to solve the issue:

1) Open your extensions table in the database. (you must back it up)
2) Disable all 3rd party extensions except for Joomla default ones.
3) Try to log in you Backend again.
4) Re-enable the extensions one by one till you get to what is causing the issue.
5) Bottom line: Update all extensions just before updating Joomla.
Another piece of good advice—for when you have the "empty white screen" problem—is to enable Joomla's debug mode (there are many ways to enable Joomla's debug mode even if you cannot login to your website)!

Another tip (one that's been conveniently ignored by the hijackers of this topic) is to use the Forum Post Assistant [FPA]. People who use the FPA tool are the people who get to the front of the queue when they ask questions about their problems on this forum.

There are too many different "problems" in this topic for anyone to reply to them individually. As a general observation, therefore, this is my response: I am sorry to hear that people are having problems with Joomla; it does not inspire confidence within the broader community to read comments like "this was the worst update ever". (Actually, I read the same comment when J! 3.7.0 was released, the same comment was posted when J! 3.6.0 was released and the same comment was posted when J! 3.5.0 was released ... probably going all the way back to when Adam complained to God that Eve was the "worst update ever" as far as humankind is concerned.) So I'm not really surprised. 8)

Unfortunately, when a topic (like this one) is hijacked out of all proportion, when a topic becomes an echo chamber for people who want to offload their frustration on to "Joomla", there's not a lot anyone can do to salvage any rationality when tempers flare.

The original problem/question was resolved/answered. I think I'll leave it at that.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

Hairs
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 7:57 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Backend problem after updating from 3.7.5 to 3.8.0

Post by Hairs » Sun Oct 01, 2017 7:43 am

I found one solution to it, while trying to fix another problem.
viewtopic.php?f=708&t=955093&p=3494286#p3494286
Hope this is of help to some.
Never get too busy making a living

That you forget to make a life


Post Reply

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 3.x”