Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
Srki94
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:06 am

Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by Srki94 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:11 am

Hi,

I updated my Joomla website and it appears that the update has failed.
When I go to the Administrator page all I can see is this :
http://prntscr.com/gnc8nl

The tab says "Error 500: Application Instantiation Error".

Is there a way to fix this without recovering the last backup?
I need help, thanks!
Last edited by Srki94 on Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

7701707
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:04 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500

Post by 7701707 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:17 am

Same here ...and somebody keep deleting my posts .......why ?

Srki94
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500

Post by Srki94 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:43 am

I'd like to figure out what is the cause of this issue.

I checked my configuration file and it all seems good regarding the username, pw, database name etc.

I don't know how to debug it further.

@77
Mind listing the extensions that you were using?
Maybe one of our extensions caused the issue.

deathbat87
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:16 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500

Post by deathbat87 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:49 am

Do you guys turn the error reporting = 'maximum' in the configuration file?

Oleg11
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 9:37 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500

Post by Oleg11 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:52 am

I have the same problem ! :'( 500 - Application Instantiation Error

Joomla v3.8.0 update may missing files - IDK

My site is down, no frontend, no admin (all menu items shows the variables only like "MOD_MENU_SYSTEM", "MOD_MENU_COM_USERS" ... etc

FIX IT ASAP or give us instructions to repair our sites

Thanks
Last edited by Oleg11 on Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:56 am, edited 2 times in total.

Srki94
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500

Post by Srki94 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:55 am

I just did. Thanks for the tip.

I get the following errors :

Admin :

Code: Select all

Notice: Constant _QQ_ already defined in /home/websitename/websitename.net/libraries/src/Language/Language.php on line 18
Frontpage :

Code: Select all

Notice: Constant JROUTER_MODE_RAW already defined in /home/websitename/websitename.net/libraries/cms/router/router.php on line 17

Notice: Constant JROUTER_MODE_SEF already defined in /home/websitename/websitename.net/libraries/cms/router/router.php on line 24

Notice: Constant _QQ_ already defined in /home/websitename/websitename.net/libraries/src/Language/Language.php on line 18
By the way, now I Don't even see the string names from the screenshot that I posted.

It looks like this issue is hitting a lot of users.

What extensions did you guys use, if any?
Last edited by Srki94 on Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Oleg11
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 9:37 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500

Post by Oleg11 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:59 am

Error report of mine:

Notice: Constant JROUTER_MODE_RAW already defined in /home/www/szm36/libraries/cms/router/router.php on line 17
Notice: Constant JROUTER_MODE_SEF already defined in /home/www/szm36/libraries/cms/router/router.php on line 24
Notice: Constant _QQ_ already defined in /home/www/szm36/libraries/src/Language/Language.php on line 18

Srki94
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500

Post by Srki94 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:06 am

There's a hint here, though regarding beta :
https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/issues/17478
An upgraded site should not have the libraries/cms/router directory, the files were moved to libraries/src/Router. This sounds like either a plugin conflict or the upgrade had issues.
I do have this old "router" folder in lib/cms/

Les Bell
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:00 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by Les Bell » Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:36 am

I had the same issue with a failed update, but I think I've managed to fix it. See viewtopic.php?f=710&t=954831&p=3493100.

--- Les

Srki94
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by Srki94 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:42 am

Les Bell wrote:I had the same issue with a failed update, but I think I've managed to fix it. See viewtopic.php?f=710&t=954831&p=3493100.

--- Les
Thanks for sharing!
So you downgraded to the previous version?

Edit:

Just noticed your last post in there, sorry.
I could never make installation through the control panel work on my website.
So the best I can do is ask my host to recover the last backup before the upgrade.

I'll wait with that a bit longer though, as upgrading the Joomla through FTP manually is my only option.

Les Bell
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:00 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by Les Bell » Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:08 am

Srki94 wrote:Thanks for sharing!
So you downgraded to the previous version?
Yes, doing a fresh install of the 3.7.5 files got the site working again, although I decided to take a leap of faith and then do the 3.8.0 update, which worked this time. Having moved everything in /var/www/html out of the way, I'm having to move a few things back into place, but it's pretty much all back again.

--- Les

Srki94
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by Srki94 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:58 am

I apologize to the administration team -> Posted this in the Installation section of the forum (as I was not aware of this section) which at the time had no topics related to the issue. I assumed that that is the correct place to ask so I didn't use search as it looked like no one was complaining about this.

Right, so seeing that many users have issues I will most likely ask my hosting provider to recover backup of 3.7.5
I would like to try with disabled plugins, to make sure that they are not the issue but since I don't have access to the backups myself, I'd have to bother hosting provider again to restore 3.7.5 if the installation fails.

I'm glad that you solved the issue Les Bell. Once again, thanks for sharing. I'll wait a bit until the situation resolves before trying again I guess.

mbabker
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2179
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:26 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by mbabker » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:24 pm

Srki94 wrote:I'll wait with that a bit longer though, as upgrading the Joomla through FTP manually is my only option.
If you absolutely cannot use the core update component to update Joomla, then you MUST use the script in my signature line or follow the same steps that it performs to ensure your update is successful. A core update is much more than just replacing the files in the filesystem (including database changes, deleting old files in the filesystem, and other tasks). If you are just replacing the files in the filesystem then your site has probably been broken in other ways for some time.
So long and thanks for all the fish.

Manually updating Joomla? See https://gist.github.com/mbabker/d7bfb4e ... 3607f89281

Srki94
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by Srki94 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:42 pm

mbabker wrote:
Srki94 wrote:I'll wait with that a bit longer though, as upgrading the Joomla through FTP manually is my only option.
If you absolutely cannot use the core update component to update Joomla, then you MUST use the script in my signature line or follow the same steps that it performs to ensure your update is successful. A core update is much more than just replacing the files in the filesystem (including database changes, deleting old files in the filesystem, and other tasks). If you are just replacing the files in the filesystem then your site has probably been broken in other ways for some time.
Thank you so much!

I've asked my hosting company to restore a backup of 3.7.4 and now I can't log in due to an invalid token issue that I opened a topic about in the General part of the forum.

I'll try with the upgrade to 3.8 and your script right now. Hopefully, it will fix the login issue and 3.8 issue for my site as well.

I'll report back soon.

Srki94
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by Srki94 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:58 pm

I've done as stated on the GH Readme.
Still having the same issue from the first post sadly.

JimLouis
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 5:33 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by JimLouis » Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:04 pm

Same issue, I am on IIS so I ended up reverting back to 3.7.5 until this whole router issue is resolved. I made sure LDAP was turned off.

Not impressed with this latest update.

I tried the update from Joomla Admininstrator backside and finally after 2+ minutes of being at 100% I received an Ajax error. when I refreshed I finally received the same errors as OP. Reverting by ftp'ing up the 3.7.5 files and site worked. Fixed the Database to 3.8.0 then tried updating again same way. Ajax error again and the same error messages and OP. FTP'd up the 3.7.5 files and it is working.

There is definitely something wrong with the Router uninstall for 3.7.5 going to 3.8.0 Because the Router folder in CMS was still there and it was also in SRC folder.

This is a basic site. The only third party software on this site is Akeeba Backup (Free) and manage.myJoomla.com Secure Plugin (Disabled). No SSL certificate, No cache, beez3 and protostar templates. Three articles no archived articles. One category. Mirror Code and TinyMCE editor installed.

Oleg11
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 9:37 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by Oleg11 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:20 am

Still no chance to upgrade to 3.8 ? No solution? (rename , copy onto /var/www/html is NOT a solution)
Will be a repaired v3.8.1 for people having trouble like Me?

I did a re-install v 3.5.7, but i wish to upgrade because of the new features...

Simpel78
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 9:05 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by Simpel78 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:16 am

step 1:

Rename the or move httpdocs/libraries.

step 2: upload httpdocs/libraries from the zip 3.8.1 full package

step 3: look for component who use there own libraries like kunena and upload.

wojsmol
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:18 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by wojsmol » Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:19 am

Simpel78 Your advice maybe works but is incomplete.

Simpel78
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 9:05 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by Simpel78 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:33 am

wojsmol wrote:Simpel78 Your advice maybe works but is incomplete.
try it and it works for me. I only share my solution. 3.8.1 works fine now. I had only reupload the library of kunena and extly component in the libraries folder.

Through all the updates of Joomla. The library folder could be messed up.

wojsmol
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:18 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by wojsmol » Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:34 am

@Simpel78 Is mainly massed up by failed 3..x update and by only replacing this folder you miss few impotent update steps. Please post viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 results.

Simpel78
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 9:05 am

Re: Joomla 3.8 Update failed, Error 500 (Router issues)

Post by Simpel78 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 12:36 pm

wojsmol wrote:@Simpel78 Is mainly massed up by failed 3..x update and by only replacing this folder you miss few impotent update steps. Please post viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 results.
I am not showing my result, server info/database info is private. Forum discussion is about (Router issues) and that's the library directory. Problem is the dir change from cms to src dir. After you make an update to 3.8 and get the router issue, you may solved it through my option. After that you can check the rest. For example by FPA


Post Reply

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 3.x”