Site Crashed While Updating from 3.6 to 3.9

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
mitchellreels
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Site Crashed While Updating from 3.6 to 3.9

Post by mitchellreels » Wed Nov 07, 2018 8:11 pm

Dear Members,

I do pray someone can help us. The site is http:/www.mitchellreelmuseum.com and as I was upgrading from Joomla 3.6 to 3.9, it just stopped, gave me error code 1054 and went to the white screen of death! That's on the admin section but the site tries to load but on several pages, it just stops trying. I do have recent backups but I can't get in to load it...

So what I need is "how do you get in to the admin section with the White screen?"

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

All The Best,
Wallace Carney
Last edited by imanickam on Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved the topic from the forum General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x to the forum Migrating/Upgrading to Joomla! 3.x

sozzled
I've been banned!

Re: Site Crashed While Updating from 3.6 to 3.9

Post by sozzled » Wed Nov 07, 2018 8:38 pm

G'day, @mitchellreels, and welcome to the forum.

Usually an "error 1054" indicates a database problem: see https://stackoverflow.com/questions/192 ... field-list (as an example). The example I've given may not be the specific reason in your case.

mitchellreels wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 8:11 pm
I do have recent backups but I can't get in to load it ...