Joomla! 3.2.7

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Martin_Web
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 8:30 am

Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Martin_Web » Thu Sep 10, 2020 5:07 pm

Hi there,

which "version path" do you recommend for a Joomla! 3.2.7 installation? (to Joomla! 3.9.21)

Is this the best way?
Joomla! 3.9.21 Upgrade Package (.tar.bz2)
This package is for performing updates from Joomla! 2.5 and previous 3.x releases to 3.9.21.
thank you,
Martin.

User avatar
abernyte
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3971
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by abernyte » Thu Sep 10, 2020 6:23 pm

I would go to J3.5.1 first and from there to J 3.9.21.
There were database changes at 3.5.1 that are better done before proceeding. Remember that all your third party extensions and template will need to be updated too.
Opinion is divided over this cautionary approach but it all depends on how confident you are about fixing stuff when it breaks :D
What we obtain too cheap, we esteem too lightly…Thomas Paine

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10103
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by sozzled » Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:05 pm

The update should be automatic. There is one recommended method to update from old versions of J! 3.x to the latest version and that method is to use the Joomla! Update component. As @abernyte wrote, the automated update is done like this: (1) after the successful update to J! 3.5.1, you will likely be offered version 3.6.5 next. (2) after reaching J! 3.6.5, run the the Joomla! Update procedure again to bring your site up to the current version in the 3.x series.

See the documentation here: https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Updating_f ... ng_version. (See also from step 15 in https://docs.joomla.org/Joomla_2.5_to_3 ... _Migration.)

Because your version of J! is very old (J! 3.2.7 was released six years ago), it's more likely that going from J! 3.2.7 to the current version will involve additional housekeeping activities (e.g. bringing all the outdated extensions up-to-date, attending to PHP compatibility issues, etc.) and you'll have to systematically work through those one by one.

Best of luck.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39716
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Webdongle » Thu Sep 10, 2020 11:30 pm

Set Protostar as default Template
Disable all 3rd party extensions
Then use the Joomla update Component

Once updated check your 3rd party extensions are up to date (not all 3rd party extensions use the Joomla update system so you will need visit their home pages)
Enable 3rd party extensions one by one.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10103
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by sozzled » Fri Sep 11, 2020 1:23 am

Webdongle wrote:
Thu Sep 10, 2020 11:30 pm
Set Protostar as default template
That may be an idea if the Joomla! Update procedure does not work but it's not part of the official procedure documented at https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Updating_f ... ng_version. If the official procedure is incorrect then perhaps someone should rewrite it? ;)

Webdongle wrote:
Thu Sep 10, 2020 11:30 pm
Disable all 3rd party extensions
This may also be an idea if the Joomla! Update process fails for some reason but it may be quite difficult to eliminate every third-party extension from the website (e.g. why would someone disable Akeeba Backup (a third-party extension) would can be quite useful as part of the updating process?).

As I wrote earlier, the update procedure, documented at https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Updating_f ... ng_version should work but occasionally people experience problems. I would try the recommended approach first before doing anything else. 8)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39716
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Webdongle » Fri Sep 11, 2020 10:05 am

Webdongle wrote:
Thu Sep 10, 2020 11:30 pm
Set Protostar as default Template
Disable all 3rd party extensions
Then use the Joomla update Component...
Might (at first glance) appear to be a bit of an over kill but the link sozzled points to is a 'one size' fits all. Your version is so old that the 3rd party extensions/template might interfere with the update.

Is your Joomla displaying the update in Joomla update?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10103
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by sozzled » Fri Sep 11, 2020 10:13 am

Updating from one version of J! to another is normally a 10-minute operation (even if you have to update in stages). Certainly, in a few cases we've seen over the past decade, some people have problems; most people don't have problems. Whenever I update from one version of J! to another I do not set Protostar as the default template and disable all third-party extensions. I update J! websites all the time.

The documented procedure is not a "one size fits all"; it's the recommended procedure as the first thing people should do.

Are the other preparatory steps, like setting Protostar as the default template and disabling every third-party extension installed on the website, a case of "overkill"? Possibly. Is this a case of being overly-pessimistic? I think so. Are these kinds of instructions confusing to people? Absolutely!

Let's keep things simple and stay clear of "expert panel discussions". Instead of guessing and anticipating the worst-case scenario, let's allow the OP to use the Joomla! Update procedure as it was intended to be used, hmm? :)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39716
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Webdongle » Fri Sep 11, 2020 10:25 am

sozzled wrote:
Fri Sep 11, 2020 10:13 am
...
Instead of guessing and anticipating the worst-case scenario, let's allow the OP to use the Joomla! Update procedure as it was intended to be used, hmm? :)
Instead of guessing that the OP does not know that method and has not attempted, let's allow the OP to say if Joomla is showing the update.

@Martin_Web
In case sozzled's rebuke takes focus off the question.
Is your Joomla displaying the update in Joomla update?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27680
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:37 am

What version of php are the server running?

3.2.7 was an update from 3 2.6, released after 3.3.0 for those who had servers not equipped to run 3.3.

Martin_Web
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 8:30 am

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Martin_Web » Sun Sep 13, 2020 5:33 pm

sozzled wrote:
Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:05 pm
The update should be automatic.
It's not. Joomla says "I'm the lastest version" - which is fake new ;-) ;-) That's why I'm asking here. :)

Martin_Web
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 8:30 am

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Martin_Web » Sun Sep 13, 2020 5:34 pm

abernyte wrote:
Thu Sep 10, 2020 6:23 pm
I would go to J3.5.1 first and from there to J 3.9.21.
Ok but how? The only fitting upgrade packed I see is
"Joomla! 3.9.21 Upgrade Package (.tar.bz2)
This package is for performing updates from Joomla! 2.5 and previous 3.x releases to 3.9.21. "

Martin_Web
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 8:30 am

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Martin_Web » Sun Sep 13, 2020 5:39 pm

Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:37 am
What version of php are the server running?

3.2.7 was an update from 3 2.6, released after 3.3.0 for those who had servers not equipped to run 3.3.
It's still PHP 5.4.45, but this will be swiched to PHP 7.x along with the J-Update.

My plan:
1. Switch to PHP 7.2
2. Do the J-Update

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27680
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Sep 13, 2020 6:11 pm

1. Switch to PHP 5.6
2. Do the J-Update
1. Switch to PHP 7.4 when Joomla is on a capable version.

Here is the 3.5.1 update package: https://downloads.joomla.org/cms/joomla ... format=zip

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10103
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by sozzled » Sun Sep 13, 2020 7:59 pm

Martin_Web wrote:
Sun Sep 13, 2020 5:33 pm
sozzled wrote:
Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:05 pm
The update should be automatic.
It's not. Joomla says "I'm the lastest version" - which is fake new ;-) ;-) That's why I'm asking here. :)
I would like you to perform a quick check of something, please. Have a look at viewtopic.php?f=710&t=977548#p3613863

Go to Extensions » Manage » Update Sites and check if the entry for Joomla! Core is enabled. If the entry is disabled, then enable it and try using the Joomla! Update component again. If the entry for Joomla! Core does not appear on the list, go to Extensions » Manage » Update Sites and click the Rebuild button. I would like to test the theory about the "update sites" feature interfering with the Joomla! Update component, please.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39716
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Webdongle » Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:06 pm

sozzled wrote:
Sun Sep 13, 2020 7:59 pm
...
Go to Extensions » Manage » Update Sites and check if the entry for Joomla! Core is enabled. ...
That setting has no bearing on whether or not the Joomla update Component can reach the update.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10103
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by sozzled » Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:19 pm

For the time being, let's set aside @Webdongle's claim that the setting I refer to has "no bearing" on whether the Joomla! Update component can locate available updates.

Neither @Webdongle nor I have tested this claim and that's why I'm asking for an independent experiment to be done by someone who has a vested interest in finding a solution to the problem. It cannot hurt to check if the Joomla! Core entry is disabled in Extensions » Manage » Update Sites, enable the entry, and then try the Joomla! Update component again. It takes about a minute to do this; it takes less time to do this than for @Webdongle and I to have a "panel discussion" on the worthiness of at least trying it. I'm not saying that @Webdongle is correct; I'm only saying that this theory hasn't been tested.

For reasons of my own, I'm not prepared to test the theory, to report the results of my experiment, only to have an army of experts shoot down my experimentation. I would rather the testing to be done independently and let's see what we discover.

I'm not saying this theory is the most probable or likely cause of the problem but I would like to run the experiment without people opposing it without some basis of factual evidence to the contrary. 8)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39716
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Webdongle » Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:38 pm

sozzled wrote:
Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:19 pm
...
Neither @Webdongle nor I have tested this claim ...
I have tested and it has no affect on the Joomla update component.
Disabling Extensions >>> Manage >>> Update Sites ... Joomla! Core makes no difference
Strangely I tested
Disabling Extensions >>> Manage >>> Update Sites ... Joomla! Update Component Update Site and that made no difference either.

Try Components >>> Joomla update ... Options ... make sure you are on the correct channel.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10103
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by sozzled » Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:50 pm

Fair enough. I don't know if this proves anything.

As I've written before, all things being equal in a properly-managed website where everything has been set up the "right way", the procedure for automatically updating from one version of J! to another, using the Joomla! Update component should work. I say that it should work but there could be a lot of other factors in the way of making this work as it should.

You're right that several factors need to be considered such as whether you're using the "Default" update channel to carry out the update. Also, it's important to have a reliable internet connection (because, without it, you basically can't do diddly, can you?).

Anecdotally, four independent reports about the update sites suggest some interplay (and I can't fathom why there should be any involvement) but we don't have all the facts. I may test my theory some time in the near future but, as I say, I don't have a personal vested interest in solving the problem or identifying the specific cause of the problem because I can't recall having had this problem in the past.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10103
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by sozzled » Sun Sep 13, 2020 10:39 pm

I tested this myself, too. I have a different outcome.

Testing procedure:

1) Install J! 3.9.18 on clean file system with a new database
2) Go to Extensions » Manage » Update Sites and disable the entry for Joomla! Core
3) Go to Joomla! Update component and verify the option is to use the "Default" channel. Yes, I saw that there was an update available.
4) Go to Extensions » Manage » Update and click Clear Cache.
5) Go back to Joomla! Update component; see the following screenshot:
j!update_01.png
6) Go back to Extensions » Manage » Update Sites and enable the entry for Joomla! Core
7) Go back to Joomla! Update component; see the following screenshot:
j!update_02.png
Can you explain that?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39716
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Webdongle » Sun Sep 13, 2020 11:53 pm

Must have been cache on my test then gave a false positive. Thanks for testing.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

Martin_Web
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 8:30 am

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Martin_Web » Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:28 am

Side note: There is no such extension in 3.2.7

Image

Martin_Web
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 8:30 am

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Martin_Web » Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:38 am

Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Sun Sep 13, 2020 6:11 pm
1. Switch to PHP 5.6
2. Do the J-Update
1. Switch to PHP 7.4 when Joomla is on a capable version.

Here is the 3.5.1 update package: https://downloads.joomla.org/cms/joomla ... format=zip
Thank you! The link works, but for the future: Where do I find it on the joomla.org website?
I have checked
> https://downloads.joomla.org/
> https://downloads.joomla.org/cms/joomla3/3-9-21

So I understand:
1. Switch to PHP 5.6
2. Do the J-Update to 3.5.1
3. Switch to PHP 7.4
4. Do the J-Update to 3.9.21

Correct?

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10103
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by sozzled » Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:46 am

Martin_Web wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:28 am
Side note: There is no such extension in 3.2.7
It's not an extension!

Go to Extensions » Manage » Update Sites

Find the item Joomla! Core (see the following screenshot):

Image

It should take you about 30 seconds to do that. Do you understand now? ???

There should be no need to change the version of PHP you are using if everything works as I expect it will. If you enable the entry for Joomla! Core in Extensions » Manage » Update Sites you should then be able to run the Joomla! Update component and you will automatically find the next available version available for you. Even @Webdongle agrees that this may work. :)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

Martin_Web
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 8:30 am

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Martin_Web » Mon Sep 14, 2020 8:07 am

In 3.2.7 there is no such menu entry. Do you understand now? :p ;-)
Image

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10103
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by sozzled » Mon Sep 14, 2020 8:14 am

Please

Go to

Extensions

... then click Manage

Then find Update Sites

I don't know what it looks like in German but you are going to Extensions » Manage » Install.

I will try to make another picture for you ...
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)


User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10103
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by sozzled » Mon Sep 14, 2020 8:23 am

Follow the arrow
updateSites.png
And see the attached picture (click the image!)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

Martin_Web
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 8:30 am

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by Martin_Web » Mon Sep 14, 2020 9:33 am

Thank you for your help! Are you considerimg that it's about a 3.2.7 ? ;)
https://abload.de/img/bildschirmfoto2020-09wfj7a.png

User avatar
abernyte
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3971
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by abernyte » Mon Sep 14, 2020 11:50 am

Why are we not using the manual update to get to J3.5.1 and using the mbabker fix, then using the Joomla update component to continue?
https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Upgrading_ ... 4.x_to_3.5 Method C

We know something will break along the way but at least we move forward.
What we obtain too cheap, we esteem too lightly…Thomas Paine

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10103
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Joomla! 3.2.7

Post by sozzled » Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:27 pm

sozzled wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:46 am
There should be no need to change the version of PHP you are using if everything works as I expect it will.
Sorry, that's incorrect information (see https://downloads.joomla.org/technical-requirements footnote [1]). :-[ If you're using J! 3.2.7 you need to use PHP 5.x. PHP 5.6 would be good.

abernyte wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 11:50 am
Why are we not using the manual update to get to J3.5.1 and using the mbabker fix, then using the Joomla update component to continue?
https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Upgrading_ ... 4.x_to_3.5 Method C
Good question. The reason we should avoid using any "manual update" method(s) is because they are not recommended. If they work, good. If they don't work then I can only say that it would not come as a complete surprise. Furthermore, suggesting that things will break is only setting things up for failure. I think we should try to look at the matter with a little more optimism. :)

I would demonstrate how to update from J! 3.2.7 but it involves a bit of fiddling around. I would need to change my PHP environment back to PHP 5.6, install a fresh copy of J! 3.2.7, run the operation (taking screenshots and/or videos along the way) and then post the "tutorial" somewhere. I don't understand why a simple operation, like working through issues with "update sites" or the Joomla! Update component, should be so complicated. I don't really have the time to produce a show-and-tell video.

Yes, I have forgotten much about J! 3.2.7 but the update procedure should be straightforward enough even if "something else" prevents it working automatically; I think we could fix whatever it is that's preventing the automated update procedure if people dedicated their time to explore the situation on hand. It's difficult enough when we have language difficulties but when we have "panel discussions", the problems are made worse. The OP will find a solution or not but I wish them the best.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)


Post Reply

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 3.x”