My entire website is gone while installing 3.x

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
andresgillis
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

My entire website is gone while installing 3.x

Post by andresgillis » Thu Feb 25, 2021 9:06 am

Hello all, I hadn't used my website in a while, but wanted to update to the newer version without knowing I had to do a backup or anything else. It downloaded correctly but once I tried to run it, it completely ruined my website and cant even access the menu in joomla, as if it got completely deleted.

This is the error I got once everything went crazy:

Table 'qsa189.#__postinstall_messages' doesn't exist SQL=SHOW FULL COLUMNS FROM

Any help is appreciated.
Thanks
Last edited by toivo on Thu Feb 25, 2021 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: moved from 3.x Installation

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: My entire website is gone while installing 3.x

Post by AMurray » Thu Feb 25, 2021 9:23 am

[Edited and Updated Post]
I'm not sure if have confused with "installing" and "updating" Joomla - if you have an existing site, all you needed to do was update Joomla from within the Administrator area. What you have done appears to be to copy new version files over the top of the existing files, but without having performed the associated database updates that would usually be done had you done the update the standard way.