No access after PHP update! Topic is solved

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
jdmoet3
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

No access after PHP update!

Post by jdmoet3 » Wed Sep 15, 2021 2:41 pm

Hi,

I have been advised to update my PHP version from 7.3.30 on my Joomla 3.9.8 installation, to 7.4.23. However, when I do this via my hosting company, I cannot then logon as administrator.

Most advice says to update my Joomla installation, but in Control Panel, it says my version is up-to-date. I do not see an option to 3.10.0.

Also, I notice Joomla 4 is available, should I just update to Joomla 4 instead of 3.10.0?

If I did, could I simply import my ecommerce database (j2store) into Joomla 4? Or would I need to update all of the plugins, templates, Modules, PHP versions etc?

Many Thanks.
Jay
Last edited by jdmoet3 on Wed Sep 15, 2021 2:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jdmoet3
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: No access after PHP update!

Post by jdmoet3 » Wed Sep 15, 2021 2:54 pm

PS. This is the error message I get when attempting to login as administrator.

Deprecated: Function get_magic_quotes_gpc() is deprecated in /home/customer/www/noordinarybookshop.co.uk/public_html/libraries/src/Application/AdministratorApplication.php on line 126

gws
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Post by gws » Wed Sep 15, 2021 3:05 pm

Revert your php to 7.3.0 and then update your site and extensions to their latest versions, use J 3.10.2 and then update php. make a backup of your site first.

jdmoet3
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by jdmoet3 » Thu Sep 30, 2021 10:25 am

gws wrote: