Language switcher not showing

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
topi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:36 pm

Language switcher not showing

Postby topi » Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:42 pm

Hi,

I'm currently running my site on Joomla 3.8.3 with two content languages installed (finnish and English).
I have placed a Language Switcher module but only the title is showing. Why?
Please help.

Thank you in advance,
Topi

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18569
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Language switcher not showing

Postby infograf768 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 5:34 pm

Have you set your site as a multilingual site?

See https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Setup_a_Multilingual_Site
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

topi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:36 pm

Re: Language switcher not showing

Postby topi » Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:15 pm

Hi,

Yes, I have gone through the steps for making an existing site multilingual by installing Swedish, Finnish and English but the poblem persists. Only Finnish and English are available under Content Languanges for some reason thouigh... ?

/ Topi

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18569
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Language switcher not showing

Postby infograf768 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 8:19 am

Please display the Multilangstatus administrator module to see the possible errors.
First publish it then click on it to get the Popup, take a screenshot and post here.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

topi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:36 pm

Re: Language switcher not showing

Postby topi » Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:57 pm

Hi,

Seems fine. See attached screen shot.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18569
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Language switcher not showing

Postby infograf768 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:09 pm

You have to make sure the module is published and position set to status.
Screen Shot 2018-02-04 at 17.06.21.png

then click on its name at bottom left of the window
Screen Shot 2018-02-04 at 17.06.33.png

You will get a popup.
Screen Shot 2018-02-04 at 17.08.46.png

Take a screenshot and attach here.

There could be an issue, try to solve it and report back.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

topi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:36 pm

Re: Language switcher not showing

Postby topi » Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:18 pm

Hi,

Thank you for the tip.
Attached you'll find my multilanguage status. It is displaying an error about the defualt home pages but this should not result in the language switcher not showing, right?

/Topi
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24288
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Language switcher not showing

Postby Per Yngve Berg » Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:32 pm

It will show after you have corrected the default menu items condition.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18569
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Language switcher not showing

Postby infograf768 » Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:20 am

but this should not result in the language switcher not showing, right?


If you have not set the module to display its title, it would.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

topi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:36 pm

Re: Language switcher not showing

Postby topi » Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:42 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the support!
The problem was I did not understand what the "Published default home pages" really meant.
After creating a menu (with default home page) for the default language (Finnish) it worked :)

Regards,
Topi


Return to “Language - Joomla! 3.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests