change the spelling of categorise (UK) to categorize(US).

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
jratunh21
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: CT (USA)
Contact:

change the spelling of categorise (UK) to categorize(US).

Post by jratunh21 » Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:37 pm

Good afternoon everyone,

I have Googled and searched the forums on forum.joomla.org as well as the forums on joomlart for an hour, and I still can not find anyone who asked the question of how to change the spelling of categorise (UK) to categorize(US). When I create an article, it says "uncategorised," and that's not the correct spelling in the US, which is uncategorized. I've downloaded a US language pack, and it didn't change it. I've also searched the language folder in the root folder of my website, but I am unsure which one to open it up. Please link me to a forum where someone already posed this question, or tell me the trick. I'm sure it's super easy. I'm going crazy over here trying to figure this out.. Grrrr

I'm using version 3.8.11
I've also tried the language override, but it's not finding the string when I search for it.
Last edited by mandville on Fri Aug 17, 2018 6:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: retitled to be more descriptive,
http://www.letmefixthatforyou.com
http://vel.joomla.org/ [Joomla's Vulnerable Extension List]
"When in doubt, just ask Google"

SharkyKZ
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1130
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 10:35 am
Location: Unknown

Re: Categorise spelling

Post by SharkyKZ » Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:41 am

It's the name of the default category. Edit the category.

stevec4
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 11:46 am

Re: change the spelling of categorise (UK) to categorize(US).

Post by stevec4 » Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:16 pm

You can always email the person who is maintaining the files if you find mistakes.
His email is listed in the pkg_en-US.xml in the download.
But as SharkyKZ said you will need to edit the category name in the backend under >>Content >> Categories

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18650
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: change the spelling of categorise (UK) to categorize(US).

Post by infograf768 » Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:08 am

The name "uncategorised" for a default category does not depend on the language pack. It is part of the default sql joomla installation.
Therefore, it indeed has to be changed manually by editing these categories in back-end.

The reason why these "uncategorised" categories are added by the sql are a bit obscure (some B/C reason for sure). I usually never use them and as soon as installing a new site, I change their name or just delete them on a multilingual site.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group


Post Reply

Return to “Language - Joomla! 3.x”