language menu with flags missing event

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

language menu with flags missing event

Post by Passie_1_5 » Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:51 am

Hi after update to Joomla! 3.8.12 something weird happend.

I use language switcher with dropdown and flags;
but with flags 'on' all links are displayed as '#'
If I turn flags 'off' it works fine.
I already discussed this with template developer but they told me it's Joomla related.

Attached 2 screens to illustrate the differences.

What could cause this error, and how could this be solved.


Thanks and regards,
Pas
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18685
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: language menu with flags missing event

Post by infograf768 » Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:10 am

Are the correct css classes loaded? Is the bootstrap.js loaded? Is the template application.js containing

Code: Select all

$('.dropdown-toggle').dropdown() 
present and loaded?

The link is not where you show it (#), it is below : Here a screenshot with the bootstrap event (for French):
Screen Shot 2018-09-07 at 12.52.32.png
I suggest you test with default Joomla template Protostar.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: language menu with flags missing event

Post by Passie_1_5 » Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:16 am

Hi Jean-Marie,
Sorry for my late reaction I did not receive an email because there was an old email address.
How can I check this? Using firefox developer tools but can't see event specifications?
Weird thing I noticed...is it works on menu items without language Association?
Maybe this makes it easier to check what could be wrong.

Thanks in advance,
Pascal

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18685
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: language menu with flags missing event

Post by infograf768 » Mon Sep 17, 2018 3:47 pm

Need access to your site at least as super user to check, if I can, what is wrong.
I have a tendency to not believe a template developer on these matters, specially if the site has not been examined by the dev concerned.

As I said, first thing is to test with protostar after putting your site offline.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: language menu with flags missing event

Post by Passie_1_5 » Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:01 am

Hi Jean-Marie,
Been testing a lot and discovered if in Modules: Language Switcher - Use Flags For Dropdown to 'No' it all works fine but without the flags.
If it's turned on it adds a '#' after the url.

I can provide access but only as pm.

Regards,
Pascal

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18685
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: language menu with flags missing event

Post by infograf768 » Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:16 am

As I said , you may give me a super user credentials by pm, BUT if you do not first test using the Protostar template and report this test here, I will be unable to help.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: language menu with flags missing event

Post by Passie_1_5 » Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:34 am

Did test with Protostar and this seems to work.
What could be wrong? is it a template issue?
I have one menu item without language assosiations and this works on both templates.
If you would like to look i'll sent you info in pm.

Regards,
Pascal

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18685
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: language menu with flags missing event

Post by infograf768 » Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:20 am

I am afraid I may not be able to help as it looks like it is indeed a template issue (whatever the template developer says...) and all depends on the possibility to modify some code of the template —which may contain some specific extensions—, which I don't know if it is even possible to do as super user, as some templates, specially those using their own framework, are not obvious to correct.
Send PM and I will have a look if it is not something obvious.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: language menu with flags missing event

Post by Passie_1_5 » Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:47 am

Hi Jean-Marie,
Just sent you pm with url and login.

Please let me know if you find anything that could cause this.
I'll contact the template developer also.

Regards,
Pascal

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18685
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: language menu with flags missing event

Post by infograf768 » Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:05 pm

Replied by pm. Too much to say. :)
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group


Post Reply

Return to “Language - Joomla! 3.x”