Poblem displaying menus in a multi-language web site with Falang

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
jotabe309
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:29 pm

Poblem displaying menus in a multi-language web site with Falang

Post by jotabe309 » Sun Sep 12, 2021 4:35 pm

Hello,

I'm having problems displaying the main menus on my multi-language (English/Spanish/German) web site https://carmen-duran.com - with Joomla 3.10.1 and the Extension Falang 3.10.0.-

When I enable translations of the menus they appear twice, f. e., instead of home or contact, inicio/inicio (Sapnish) or startseite/startseite (German), or contacto/contacto (Spanish), kontakt/kontakt German… and if I disable the translations it only appears the English menu title (home, contact, etc.), of course, and that's embarrassing.

I have the same configuration in another multi-language web site with 4 languages (https://jrbustamante.com) and absolutely no problems with it.

Could anybody get an idea about it for helping me to solve the problem?

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28195
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Poblem displaying menus in a multi-language web site

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Sep 12, 2021 6:48 pm

How does your template show the menu, with a module?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19120
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Poblem displaying menus in a multi-language web site

Post by infograf768 » Sun Sep 12, 2021 7:00 pm

Please modify the title of this post by adding `Falang` in it. Thanks
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

jotabe309
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Problem displaying menus in a multi-language web site with Falang

Post by jotabe309 » Mon Sep 13, 2021 6:20 pm

infograf768 wrote:
Sun Sep 12, 2021 7:00 pm
Please modify the title of this post by adding `Falang` in it. Thanks
I've already done it. The (original) title includes 'Falang' in it. Sorry for 'Poblem', I meant 'Problem'!
Last edited by jotabe309 on Mon Sep 13, 2021 6:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.

jotabe309
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Poblem displaying menus in a multi-language web site

Post by jotabe309 » Mon Sep 13, 2021 6:26 pm

Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Sun Sep 12, 2021 6:48 pm
How does your template show the menu, with a module?
With a module, yes, indeed. Sorry for 'Poblem', I meant 'Problem'!

jotabe309
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Poblem displaying menus in a multi-language web site

Post by jotabe309 » Wed Sep 15, 2021 6:37 am

jotabe309 wrote:
Mon Sep 13, 2021 6:26 pm
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Sun Sep 12, 2021 6:48 pm
How does your template show the menu, with a module?
With a module, yes, indeed. Sorry for 'Poblem', I meant 'Problem'!
Hello,

after 2 days of posting the problem remains without any solution.
Is there somebody here who may help me with that issue?

Thanks a lot.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28195
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Poblem displaying menus in a multi-language web site with Falang

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Wed Sep 15, 2021 7:09 am

You appear to have two menu modules, one to the left and another below the article.

jotabe309
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Poblem displaying menus in a multi-language web site with Falang

Post by jotabe309 » Wed Sep 15, 2021 11:59 am

Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Wed Sep 15, 2021 7:09 am
You appear to have two menu modules, one to the left and another below the article.
Thanks for answering. I'm trying to get rid of the menus on the bottom position of the template, but no success. So I've contacted the Forum of the template in order to clear it.

I had the same problem with other template I was using and there was not another menu on it. So I think the problem must be some other kind of.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28195
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Poblem displaying menus in a multi-language web site with Falang

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Wed Sep 15, 2021 12:25 pm

Can you set the menu to show in the Template Style?

With these templates, you have to copy the template style for each language.

jotabe309
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Poblem displaying menus in a multi-language web site with Falang

Post by jotabe309 » Wed Sep 15, 2021 2:09 pm

Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Wed Sep 15, 2021 12:25 pm
Can you set the menu to show in the Template Style?

With these templates, you have to copy the template style for each language.
I don't understand quite well what you mean when you say to "set the menu to show in the Template Style". Sorry, I'm an apprentice.

And about copying the template style for each language, as I'm always using the Extension "Falang" for my web sites, I just do the same with them all, I set up the template in a main language (in this Fall, English), then I go to Falang and translate everything in the other languages, as I did for example with my web site https://jrbustamante.com, where I don't have any of such problems.

jotabe309
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Poblem displaying menus in a multi-language web site with Falang

Post by jotabe309 » Thu Sep 16, 2021 5:25 pm

jotabe309 wrote:
Wed Sep 15, 2021 2:09 pm
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Wed Sep 15, 2021 12:25 pm
Can you set the menu to show in the Template Style?

With these templates, you have to copy the template style for each language.
I don't understand quite well what you mean when you say to "set the menu to show in the Template Style". Sorry, I'm an apprentice.

And about copying the template style for each language, as I'm always using the Extension "Falang" for my web sites, I just do the same with them all, I set up the template in a main language (in this Fall, English), then I go to Falang and translate everything in the other languages, as I did for example with my web site https://jrbustamante.com, where I don't have any of such problems.
Well, I'm sorry to say I don't understand it at all, the "Topic is not solved" as indicated in the Index by Infograf768, I keep waiting for a real answer that helps me to solve the problem.


Post Reply

Return to “Language - Joomla! 3.x”