How can I pass language corrections?

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
RenevO
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2021 3:46 pm

How can I pass language corrections?

Post by RenevO » Thu Dec 23, 2021 3:53 pm

In the Dutch translation of Joomla I notice an error. How can I pass this to the Joomla organisation?
If possible, I would like to modify the issue myself. I notice that translations are in .ini files, but when I look in the .ini files for the Dutch nl-NL version, I there see the correct translation. Or it is not loaded, or the wrong text on the screen is coming from another .ini file. There are several, when is which .ini file used?

I'm maybe a bit critical on translations, but the devil is in the detail, isn't it?
Last edited by imanickam on Thu Dec 23, 2021 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved topic » from General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x to Language - Joomla! 3.x

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27897
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: How can I pass language corrections?

Post by imanickam » Thu Dec 23, 2021 4:28 pm

Welcome to the Joomla! Forum.

Following is the contact information for the Dutch language translation.
Dutch Translation for Joomla 3.x
Language: Dutch (nl-NL)
Team Coordinator: Martijn Maandag
Contact: martijn@reisverslagen.net
Website: https://www.joomlacommunity.nl
Suggest getting in touch with the Dutch Language coordinator about what you have found out.


RenevO wrote:
Thu Dec 23, 2021 3:53 pm
In the Dutch translation of Joomla I notice an error. How can I pass this to the Joomla organisation?
If possible, I would like to modify the issue myself. I notice that translations are in .ini files, but when I look in the .ini files for the Dutch nl-NL version,
It would be be helpful if you could provide more/complete details of what error you are noticing and what are you noticing in the ini files.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Joomla! Core - Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team Coordinator
ex-Joomla! Translations Coordination Team
Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 41287
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: How can I pass language corrections?

Post by Webdongle » Thu Dec 23, 2021 8:38 pm

https://docs.joomla.org/Joomla_Translation_Program
Joomla translations are mostly maintained on Crowdin. Create an account or Log in with Google, Facebook, GitHub, Twitter or Gitlab and start translating your language.
hmmmm yet another chat exchange for Joomla?

https://volunteers.joomla.org/teams/joo ... guage-team says
The Joomla CMS Language Team is responsible for the translation of the Joomla CMS into different languages.
Anyone can help translate Joomla into their language via the CrowdIn account here.
If your language isn’t yet available, please let us know and we’ll get it set up ready for you to start translating.

Questions / Issues can be raised here:
https://github.com/joomla/core-translations
So translating is now split into two sites. Very confusing. Which is best to use?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 23708
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How can I pass language corrections?

Post by pe7er » Fri Dec 24, 2021 7:37 am

RenevO wrote:
Thu Dec 23, 2021 3:53 pm
when I look in the .ini files for the Dutch nl-NL version, I there see the correct translation. Or it is not loaded, or the wrong text on the screen is coming from another .ini file. There are several, when is which .ini file used?
The .sys.ini langauge files are loaded everywhere. Those contain menu labels etc.
The .ini language files are usually only loaded in the component/module/plugin/template and contain the language labels of that extension.

You could also search all language files for the faulty translation.
That might give more info about why/where it is loaded.
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Netherlands
The best website: https://the-best-website.com

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 41287
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: How can I pass language corrections?

Post by Webdongle » Fri Dec 24, 2021 3:43 pm

You could try using the Language component to find where it is?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19123
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: How can I pass language corrections?

Post by infograf768 » Sat Dec 25, 2021 9:07 am

To find which string is concerned, follow these steps:

1.In your browser, open the `administrator/index.php?option=com_config` System tab in order to display the `Debug Language` field. (Page 1)

2. In another browser window or tab, open the page which displays the string value you want to correct. (Page 2)

3. Switch to Page 1 and set `Debug Language` to `Yes`, let `Language Display` to `Value`, Save but do not close the page.

4. Reload Page 2 and check if the translation you want to modify is surrounded by **, i.e. **translation value**.

5. If Yes, load Page 1 and set `Language Display` to `Constant`.

6. Reload Page 2 and look at the string concerned. It will display this way (example in frontend):
Screenshot 2021-12-25 at 09.53.15.png
7. You can then find in which file is that string.
If it is in the Dutch translation, best is to create an override.
First set `Debug Language` to `No`, Save and then go to `administrator/index.php?option=com_languages&view=overrides`

Select the language AND client concerned. Click on New. Enter the lang constant you got on Page 3 in the Search field, select `Constant`: the string and its translation should display below. Select it. It will display in the left part of the page with its translation. Modify and save. You are done.
Screenshot 2021-12-25 at 10.05.33.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group


Post Reply

Return to “Language - Joomla! 3.x”