Cannot Have Two Menu Items of the same alias with Different Languages in different Menus

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Arshia Aghaei
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Cannot Have Two Menu Items of the same alias with Different Languages in different Menus

Post by Arshia Aghaei » Tue Sep 20, 2016 7:56 pm

Hi ,

I have a multilingual site and created two menus and copied one of the menus' menu items to another and started changing the names and places to point. But after selecting the alias home for a menu item it says that a menu exists with the same alias. No way to fix this ?

Thanks.

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Cannot Have Two Menu Items of the same alias with Different Languages in different Menus

Post by imanickam » Wed Sep 21, 2016 1:18 am

Whether the menu items are assigned to the appropriate languages?
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Joomla! Core - Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team Coordinator
Former Joomla! Translations Coordination Team Lead
Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

Arshia Aghaei
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Cannot Have Two Menu Items of the same alias with Different Languages in different Menus

Post by Arshia Aghaei » Sat Sep 24, 2016 2:30 pm

imanickam wrote:Whether the menu items are assigned to the appropriate languages?
The home menu item and it's equivalent in the other language titled home in another language. (They are both in different menus) I want them both to have the alias of 'home' but it will return an error. Why ?