Language asociations, it is possible to integrate with custom component?

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
juanm_la22
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Language asociations, it is possible to integrate with custom component?

Post by juanm_la22 » Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:37 pm

Hi all!

My cuestion is simple: Is it possible to integrate language associations with custom component?

What i am looking for is a way to easly translate categories and items created on my custom component.

Any doc will be well received.

Regards!
JM

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Language asociations, it is possible to integrate with custom component?

Post by imanickam » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:53 am

juanm_la22 wrote:My cuestion is simple: Is it possible to integrate language associations with custom component?
Yes, it is possible. You could review the code in the components such as Contacts. In fact, a better thing would be to review the code the of the component Web Links as it has been taken out of core Joomla! You can get the code of the component Web Links from https://github.com/joomla-extensions/weblinks.
juanm_la22 wrote:What i am looking for is a way to easly translate categories and items created on my custom component.
I could not comprehend the requirement correctly. Item association and Item translation are two different things. Item association is a core function and translation is an added feature. You could review extensions such as KMFasTrans Lite (https://extensions.joomla.org/extension ... rans-lite/) to know how automatic translation has to be done.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்