Why is Dzongkha a protected language pack, and where did it come from?

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
gstone
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Why is Dzongkha a protected language pack, and where did it come from?

Post by gstone » Wed Mar 21, 2018 10:48 pm

I'm cleaning up outdated and unused extensions in my 3.8.6 install, and I ran across two languages that I did not install: Dzongkha, and Hebrew. I have absolutely no need for these languages and have no idea how they got there, let alone being protected and un-uninstallable. Below is the error message. Advice?

Warning
This language can't be uninstalled. It is protected in the database (usually en-GB).
Package Uninstall: This extension may have already been uninstalled or might not have been uninstall properly: site_dz-BT.zip
Package Uninstall: This extension may have already been uninstalled or might not have been uninstall properly: admin_dz-BT.zip
Package Uninstall: Errors were detected, manifest file not removed!

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Why is Dzongkha a protected language pack, and where did it come from?

Post by imanickam » Thu Mar 22, 2018 5:10 am

The latest version of the language pack for the language Dzongkha is for Joomla! 3.6.2 and it was released on September 28, 2016; refer http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/jtrans ... ge_id=7003.

Similarly, the latest version of the language pack for the language Hebrew is for Joomla! 3.1.1 and it was released on May 12, 1013; refer http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/jtrans ... ge_id=6420.