Load specific language parameter. Possible?

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
BosseJ
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Load specific language parameter. Possible?

Post by BosseJ » Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:11 pm

I just made my site multilingual. My default language is Swedish. So far I have added English and Spanish.

I have two issues:

1. My shop.
I'm using Ecwid Store. The store loads through the Ecwid Joomla component.
Ecwid is shown in the browser specific language. No matter what language you choose in the Joomla language selector module.
So if you are an English speaking Canadian with a browser set to French, Ecwid will show in French even if you chosen English as language in Joomla language selector.
This is something I as store owner can't do anything about. It is what it is.

So, my first question:
Is there any way I can set specific language parameters while choosing language in Joomla language selector? So when the component loads Ecwid it will be in the same language as the site?

2. Auto detection
I have the auto language detection on so if you are from Spain, the site will show in Spanish. From UK/US it's in English. And the same, of course, for Swedish.
But if you are from a country I don't have a language for, it will show in Swedish since that is my default language.

My second question:
Is there a way to make Joomla redirect foreign languages to the English site instead of Swedish? Without making English as default language? Sweden is after all my prime country and I need my domain to continue showing in Swedish.
But it's a better chance that a foreigner understand English...

waarnemer
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace