3.8.10 Auto Update seems to have borked my language switcher Topic is solved

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
trybefore
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

3.8.10 Auto Update seems to have borked my language switcher

Post by trybefore » Mon Jul 02, 2018 3:33 am

Language caching is switched off.
Multilingual site has been working fine for years!
The only other noticeable thing is that "System - jQuery Easy" shows the message

Warning
Extension Update: Custom install routine failure.

Could these issues be connected?

url is http://dr-werneburg.de

Troubleshooting suggestions welcome!

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: 3.8.10 Auto Update seems to have borked my language switcher

Post by imanickam » Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:17 am

There is no such thing as auto update in core Joomla! Of course, the system will let the user know that there is a new version available and the update takes place when the user chooses to do so.

What is not clear is whether any error has been encountered while upgrading/updating Joomla! to v3.8.10. Could you please shed some light on that?

As for as the extension "jQuery - Easy", the latest stable version that is compatible with Joomla! 3.1+ is v2.2. Please check whether your site uses this version. If not download that version and install it.

Note:
It is recommended to test the upgrade/update of core Joomla/extensions or third party extensions before upgrading/updating the production live site.

Reviewed the site and what I notice is that the menu item id changes in the url whereas the article id remains the same when you switch between languages.