Problem with Joomla language switch only on start/homepage link

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
insightout
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Problem with Joomla language switch only on start/homepage link

Post by insightout » Sat Sep 01, 2018 7:55 am

I've been using Joomla for my website for years and I just noticed that I have a problem when switching the language of the start / homepage that loads when someone just access the url of my website and directly tries to switch the language. All other articles and menues switch the language correctly it is only for the start / homepage that I have this problem.

When I am accessing the website through the direct url plus a language selection, e.g.:

https://www.matrixwissen.de/index.php?lang=de

https://www.matrixwissen.de/index.php?lang=en

everything is ok. It is only when I access the German version and then click on the flag to switch to the English version and vice versa that I have a problem:

I am using Article -> Features Articles as home page where I have a long list of about 40 articles. Only the first 14 are shown when I access the URL so there are more which I can access through the (1) (2) buttoms at the bottom. When I switch the language from German to English or from English to German I see part of my featured articles but they do not start with the first article but somewhere about 2/3 down the list of featured articles which makes no sense to me.