Is it possible to Remove the Language Prefix all together in a Multilingual Site?

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
joomleb
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 959
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:53 am
Location: Panamá

Is it possible to Remove the Language Prefix all together in a Multilingual Site?

Post by joomleb » Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:43 pm

Hi infograf768,
I want come back to this old topic now that SEO feature has been completely added.

Example: Joomla 3.8.12 Multilanguage En/Es Site enabled:

mydomain.com (En language with Plugin > System - Language Filter > Remove URL Language Code: Yes)
mydomain.com/es

mydomain.com/terms-and-conditions
mydomain.com/es/terminos-y-condiciones > mydomain.com/terminos-y-condiciones

As far as I know there isn't a way, right now, to remove the URL language code for all languages less than the home page (logically). Am I right ?
A real language site should have different article / category Alias URL titles depending on language I'm using, so I'll have always unique alias.

A - Would be a good think to extend the "Remove URL Language Code:" function to all languages enabled, the default one and the others
B - and / or simply add another option to the plugin, something like:
- Plugin > System - Language Filter > Remove URL Language Code default language: Yes / No (it mean included the home page)
- Plugin > System - Language Filter > Remove URL Language Code other languages: Yes / No (it mean on all pages less than the home page)


In first of all, What do you think about ?
Do you have any instructions for me on where to post on github etc. to discuss this as "feature request" and, if accepted help on its development ?
Last edited by imanickam on Wed Sep 05, 2018 3:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Split from the topic https://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=711&t=917190

User avatar
fcoulter
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1685
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 11:39 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: remove language prefix in joomla

Post by fcoulter » Tue Sep 04, 2018 4:44 pm

I think that the only way to do what you want is to not have a multi-language site but just use a default language and home page, this is essentially what you hinted at here:
Well, I hate so much the language prefix that I'd also ready to change the name of each language home page, and/or ready to use one international home page and then only multilanguage content categories.
The actual contents of the articles and categories can be whatever you want in whatever language you want, the CMS does not care.
Do you have any instructions for me on where to post on github etc. to discuss this as "feature request" and, if accepted help on its development ?
No there is no chance of this, it is something that does not make sense for a Joomla multi-language site. Part of the way that such sites work is that each URL contains a parameter for the language. It can only be dropped for the default language because that can be assumed if there is no language parameter in the URL.

You can post the feature request here, but I think that you will get the same response.

https://issues.joomla.org/tracker/jooml ... urerequest
http://www.spiralscripts.co.uk for Joomla! extensions
http://www.fionacoulter.com/blog my personal website
Security Forum moderator :: VEL team member
"Wearing my tin foil hat with pride"

joomleb
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 959
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:53 am
Location: Panamá

Re: remove language prefix in joomla

Post by joomleb » Tue Sep 04, 2018 11:24 pm

Hi fcoulter
fcoulter wrote:
Tue Sep 04, 2018 4:44 pm
No there is no chance of this, it is something that does not make sense for a Joomla multi-language site. Part of the way that such sites work is that each URL contains a parameter for the language. It can only be dropped for the default language because that can be assumed if there is no language parameter in the URL.
Many Thanks for the explanation, too appreciated.
Anyway I tried to post is as "Feature Requeste" here: https://issues.joomla.org/tracker/joomla-cms/22013


Post Reply

Return to “Language - Joomla! 3.x”