Page 1 of 1

Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 8:59 am
by artax
Good morning everyone,
I'd have a question. I correctly set up a multilanguage site with joomla.
However, for one of the 2 languages I don't have content yet.
Is there any way to disable the multilanguage features altogether without messing up the site? I'd wait until I have enough content for the second language, then I'll enable it again.

So I ask: is it enough to unpublish the language switcher module?

Thank you!

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 9:11 am
by pe7er
I would just unpublish the content languages that are not yet ready:

Go to: Extensions > Language(s) > Content Languages
and Unpublish the languages you do not need.

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 9:31 am
by infograf768
> is it enough to unpublish the language switcher module?

No.

These are the necessary steps
Set the site offline.
Desactivate the Language Filter plugin.
Unpublish all Langswitcher modules.
Set the Default Home page that was set to the Content language you want to keep to language `All`.
Make sure to unpublish the menu module containing the Default Home menu item to which language "All" was assigned previously.
Unpublish the Content Language you don't want to display for now.

@pe7er
Unpublishing the content language in the making is not enough.
It would have been OK if there had been 3 languages and keeping 2 of them.
In this case we have to make sure the site is temporary set to monolingual.

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 4:41 am
by pe7er
infograf768 wrote:
Thu May 16, 2019 9:31 am
Unpublishing the content language in the making is not enough.
Ok, thanks for correcting me on that JM!

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 9:04 am
by artax
Thanks guys for your kind reply.
infograf768 wrote:
Thu May 16, 2019 9:31 am
> is it enough to unpublish the language switcher module?

These are the necessary steps
Set the site offline.
Desactivate the Language Filter plugin.
Unpublish all Langswitcher modules.
Set the Default Home page that was set to the Content language you want to keep to language `All`.
Make sure to unpublish the menu module containing the Default Home menu item to which language "All" was assigned previously.
Unpublish the Content Language you don't want to display for now.
Thanks a lot, I did that.
However, I don't why now I got the English menu instead of the Italian one that I want to keep. I don't know why it's retrieving that one.

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 5:43 am
by infograf768
The Italian menu Default home page menu item (which should be set to "All" languages) and its menu module should be published.
The English one should be unpublished.
Make sure the default site language is set to Italian.

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 5:48 am
by infograf768
Also, the error may come the template you are using. Test with protostar.

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Posted: Mon May 20, 2019 9:04 am
by artax
infograf768 wrote:
Sat May 18, 2019 5:48 am
Also, the error may come the template you are using. Test with protostar.
Thank you so much for you answers. Well, it indeed had something to do with the template, but it worked as intended: I had different template styles assigned to different languages and the default style was still the one set for English pages. I set the Style assigned to Italian pages as the default, and that seems to work, for now.

Again many thanks!

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 8:41 am
by artax
@infograf768 should I change all the menu items and articles to ALL as language? I kept Italian, the language I'd want to keep for now, but menu items don't route correctly to the articles.
Thanks,

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 6:29 am
by infograf768
@artax
Quite impossible to help more without superuser access to your site.
Normally, in this situation, all that was set to en-GB should be unpublished until you are ready again to switch to multilingual.