Page 1 of 1

Language Switcher mess

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 12:40 pm
by a0394
Hi everyone, while creating a new website i stumbled on a problem i've never encountered before: my language switcher is not working.
Languages are Italian and English; i have set 2 different menus, 2 different default pages (Home ITA and Home ENG), made the association between them... but the language switcher only shows the Italian flag, and, if i click it while being on the /en website, it doesn't take me to the /it.
While on the /it website, the language switcher doesn't even show up.
How can i fix this? I have just a couple days to complete the website lol.

Domain: verticalhousebali.com
Joomla Version: 3.9.8

Re: Language Switcher mess

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 12:52 pm
by imanickam
Please Publish the Administrator module Multilingual Status. Once it is published a Text Link with the text "Multilingual Status" will appear on the status bar.

Click on the link "Multilingual Status" and a pop-up window with the status of various multilingual settings would appear. Post a copy of the pop-up window in your reply.

Re: Language Switcher mess

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 12:57 pm
by a0394
Hi, thank you for your reply. However, how do i get that report to show? Where is the option located?
Thx

Re: Language Switcher mess

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 1:00 pm
by a0394
Found it, but this is what i got (please see the attached file)

Re: Language Switcher mess

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 1:06 pm
by imanickam
Good... Once you have published the module, in the Left Bottom of your screen you would see a link with the text "Multilingual Status". Click on the link and a popup window with the title "Multilingual Status" would appear. Copy and paste a copy of the pop-up window in your reply.

Re: Language Switcher mess

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 1:28 pm
by a0394
Hi, from the report everything seems right to me, still the switcher is not behaving correctly!
Please see attached picture.
Thanks,

Re: Language Switcher mess

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 1:53 pm
by imanickam
If you do not mind, you could send me the back-end login credentials of your site. The login user must have Super User privileges.

Alternatively, you could install Akeeba Backup and take a backup of your site. Copy the backup to a place where I can download it from. Send me the link to the file to download. I could review the site on my local machine.

Do you have two different template styles, each style assigned to specific language?

Re: Language Switcher mess

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 2:06 pm
by a0394
Hi, i do not have 2 different template styles for different languages... Regarding the access, i don't know... Should I?
Thank you for your support!

Re: Language Switcher mess

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 2:15 pm
by a0394
Hi imanickam, check your pms. THX!

Re: Language Switcher mess

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 2:35 pm
by a0394
Actually, i cant send pm due to the fact that i'm a new user, so i sent you a email through the forum tool.
Kindly get back to me when you can, thx!

Re: Language Switcher mess

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 3:56 pm
by imanickam
Reviewed your site and following is my feedback:

- Disabled Main Menu module
- Made the menu item Home ENG as the Default menu item -> Now the English Flag shows in the menu item in the column Default
- Moved the category "Various Articles" from the Parent Category "ITA" to the parent category "ENG"

Observation:
- English Category is defined to inherit properties from an Italian category - It would be good to have English categories to inherit properties from an English category`
- There is only one Style of the template style used for all languages - It would be good to have one style per language

- It looks like you are using a Quickstart package to build the site. So, you have to be alert dealing with language assignments

- Also do not test with empty articles - it would be hard to figure out.