change homepage url

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

change homepage url

Post by Passie_1_5 » Tue Jul 21, 2020 10:10 am

Hi,
is it possilbe to change the homepage url to something else?
example:
- https://www.mysite.com/
change to this:
- https://www.mysite.com/site-expert/

If possilbe, how can this be done and can this be done for multilanguage site?

Regards,
Pas

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6086
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: change homepage url

Post by AMurray » Tue Jul 21, 2020 10:15 am

Yes, I expect so.....if you install the site into the sub-folder called "site-expert"....?
Move the site files from the root (public_html) to the sub-folder (public_html/site-expert).

Your URL will then be, www.yoursite.com/site-expert.

Then you need a permanent redirect, so anyone just going to www.yoursite.com will be directed to www.yoursite.com/site-expert. The redirect can be done through your hosting control panel, or in the .htaccess file.

Others will correct me I expect if the above is not fully correct.
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray
Help you I can, yes!. Post your question, you should. Keep it on topic you must!
Use the Forc....Forum Post Assistant my young Padawan!

Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: change homepage url

Post by Passie_1_5 » Tue Jul 21, 2020 11:44 am

Thank you,
But i'd rather not move the site to a subfolder.
Isn't it possible to change/redirect the url or add a catagorie for home page?

Regards,
Pas

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6086
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: change homepage url

Post by AMurray » Tue Jul 21, 2020 9:35 pm

OK, maybe the copy files isn't necessary but I'm sure there's some trick of the trade that forces the URL as you would like. I don't know it's a Joomla specific thing.

The first place I would suggest to start looking is https://docs.joomla.org/Enabling_Search ... (SEF)_URLs allows you to enable SEF URLS
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray
Help you I can, yes!. Post your question, you should. Keep it on topic you must!
Use the Forc....Forum Post Assistant my young Padawan!

Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: change homepage url

Post by Passie_1_5 » Wed Jul 22, 2020 6:52 am

Thanks Murray,
Yes sef is already enabled.
It's just the url of the home I would like to change for seo purpose.
Other pages urls can be changed with Alias but for home it looks like this is not.

Regards,
Pas

Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: change homepage url

Post by Passie_1_5 » Wed Jul 22, 2020 7:04 am

Maybe this explains it even better:
but i'm not sure how to do this?

The home page should have one URL

Your site’s home page is usually its most important page. It’s likely to be the most powerful page on your site because most sites’ home pages’ get more inbound links than others.

As such, it’s the page with the most potential to bring visits from search engines (and help other pages do so by sharing its link power with internal links).

Unfortunately, many sites have lots of different URLs for the home page. Some examples include:

examplesite.com/index.html
examplesite.com/home
examplesite.com/home.html
examplesite.com/page/Home/0,,1234,00.html

Fix the problem with the following actions:

Choose your home page’s canonical URL (make it the most simple possible).
Never link to any other version.
Add 301 redirects from any duplicates to the canonical if your site’s software insists on producing ‘duplicate URLs’ (or has done in the past).
If 301s are not possible then add rel=canonical tags instead.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9681
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: change homepage url

Post by sozzled » Wed Jul 22, 2020 8:05 am

Two questions:

1) What version of Joomla are you using?
2) What one URL do you want to use for your website home?
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: change homepage url

Post by Passie_1_5 » Wed Jul 22, 2020 9:29 am

Hi,
Joomla! 3.9.20
home should be like: mysite.com/site-expert
And this different for all languages

Regards,
Pas

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9681
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: change homepage url

Post by sozzled » Wed Jul 22, 2020 9:33 am

Question: how is your home page "different for all languages"?

A website has one home page. I don't know how to make "different" home pages. The home page in Joomla is the page defined by the default menu item (the menu item that has a yellow star next to it).

examplesite.com/page/Home/0,,1234,00.html is not not a valid URL for J! 3.9.20.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: change homepage url

Post by Passie_1_5 » Wed Jul 22, 2020 11:51 am

I mean like this:
mysite.com/gb/site-expert
mysite.com/fr/expert-du-site
mysite.com/es/experto-en-el-sitio

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9681
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: change homepage url

Post by sozzled » Wed Jul 22, 2020 2:28 pm

That's a language matter; it's not a SEO matter.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: change homepage url

Post by Passie_1_5 » Wed Jul 22, 2020 4:04 pm

this is just an example, basic home has no /site-expert
I want to 'add this' to every language 'home'

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27198
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: change homepage url

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Wed Jul 22, 2020 4:21 pm

Set up your site as a Multi-lingual Site.

https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Setup_a_Multilingual_Site

The language code (en, fr etc.), will show up in the URL when the Language Filter Plugin is enabled. Before you enable, the Multi-lingual setup must be complete.

Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: change homepage url

Post by Passie_1_5 » Thu Jul 23, 2020 5:40 am

thanks, but this is already done.
I want to know if it's possible to change the url's of the home pages.

Now it's like:
mysite.com/gb/
mysite.com/fr/
mysite.com/es/

And I want it to be like:
mysite.com/gb/site-expert
mysite.com/fr/expert-du-site
mysite.com/es/experto-en-el-sitio

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19019
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: change homepage url

Post by infograf768 » Thu Jul 23, 2020 7:20 am

This is impossible in a simple way. Such urls would create 404.

You would have to consider the existing necessary default Home pages as fakes and create new menu items with the alias you want for each language in another menu ad-hoc. In this case the existing Home pages should be alone in specific menus.
Then you would have to create redirects from the existing Home pages to these new menu items, one per language (and associate them)

It would also mean modifying the languagefilter plugin for the meta tags, language assignment for the template styles, and surely more...

Frankly speaking: forget it...
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

Passie_1_5
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: change homepage url

Post by Passie_1_5 » Thu Jul 23, 2020 7:51 am

Thanks Jean-Marie,
That's clearly explained ;)
But since urls are important for seo it would be nice to have such option in Joomla 4 maybe...

Regards,
Pas


Post Reply

Return to “Language - Joomla! 3.x”