Page 1 of 1

Language Switcher 3.5.0 and PHP 7.4

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 7:36 pm
by escuta
Hello,

A Joomla site that I built for my work some time ago is now running into problems after an upgrade on the server of PHP from version 7.3 to 7.4. It breaks the site with certain pages refusing to load at all. I narrowed the problem down to the "Language Switcher" module which is version 3.5.0. When the module is disabled the site works with no problems - except that that it lacks the switcher, of course.

What I'd like to do is try downgrading the module but i can't figure out how to do it. Is it part of the Joomla release? Or part a of different package? I can't find a download for it.

The version of Joomla installed is 3.9.20

Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks

Re: Language Switcher 3.5.0 and PHP 7.4

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 8:43 pm
by Per Yngve Berg
It's part of the core. 3.5.0 is the version included in the J3.9.20 package.

Re: Language Switcher 3.5.0 and PHP 7.4

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 12:00 pm
by escuta
Thanks. I reinstalled a Joomla 3.9.10 database. This also has the Language Switcher 3.5.0 module however the switcher works with PHP 7.4.8 whereas the same module does not in Joomla 3.9.20. I'm going to try reverting to 3.9.10, importing the newer content on the website.

Re: Language Switcher 3.5.0 and PHP 7.4

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 4:57 pm
by infograf768
I doubt that the module is at stake. I see no code in it that would not be compatible with PHP 7.4.8.
last time the module helper was modified was https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/pull/22403 (J 3.9.0)

Maybe this has to do with some of your 3pd extensions.

You already posted on Issues
https://issues.joomla.org/tracker/joomla-cms/30246

Please test installing a default core 3.9.20 and its default multilingual data with NO 3pd extensions

Re: Language Switcher 3.5.0 and PHP 7.4

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 5:21 pm
by escuta
infograf768 wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 4:57 pm
I doubt that the module is at stake. I see no code in it that would not be compatible with PHP 7.4.8.
last time the module helper was modified was https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/pull/22403 (J 3.9.0)

Maybe this has to do with some of your 3pd extensions.

You already posted on Issues
https://issues.joomla.org/tracker/joomla-cms/30246

Please test installing a default core 3.9.20 and its default multilingual data with NO 3pd extensions
Thanks. Yes, sorry for posting twice. I though I may have had discovered a bug. I'll continue here.

So do you mean start a new Joomla website with new user and database and test the switcher?

I will download from here: https://downloads.joomla.org/br/latest

Re: Language Switcher 3.5.0 and PHP 7.4

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 12:47 pm
by escuta
I made a simple bilingual site with a fresh install of 3.9.20 and yes, it does work with both flags of the language switcher displayed and functioning.

I also tested my broken site (local copy) by changing the Portuguese home page template to beeze3 (and that of the English home page as well as the introduction pages for both languages). This made no difference to the behaviour (ie. it continues to jump to the English pages - note that the Portuguese home page is marked as the default). I then tried disabling all the extensions that I could. When this is done and I try to load the Portuguese home page, it continues to jump to the English page whereupon it displays the error message: "T3 Plugin is not enabled". I thought that this plugin was needed of the Joomlart template that is used for the site, however the page itself is now set to use beeze3, so I find this strange.

Re: Language Switcher 3.5.0 and PHP 7.4

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 6:23 am
by infograf768
> I then tried disabling all the extensions that I could.

This is certainly where the issue lies. You have not disabled ALL extensions (like K2). Also It may indeed be related to the way you assigned your template styles with T3.

Note: it is always better to test with protostar as beez has been largely neglected in the last years.