Multi-language site - error with one language

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
cguanaja
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Multi-language site - error with one language

Post by cguanaja » Sat Aug 14, 2021 1:44 am

Hi there,

I have a site running in English but need two more languages - so have gone through the VERY helpful resource below and have completed adding 2 additional languages.

https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Setup_a_Mu ... r_Template

The problem that I have now is the following: once the two additional languages have been created, with respective menus, content, and template - all this is good as switcher is enabled and showing two additional languages but when I go to any of the other two languages, I am not able to go back to the main or default language - which is indicated by the "home" icon on the main menu that I have.

I can see 3 menus are active and with respective language - the only thing is that main menu (the one with the home icon) does not have the flag of the language in the home page - would I need to recreate the whole menu? It's gonna be a lot of work but waiting to hear some input about this. I have also made sure that templates are assigned to each language and as I said navigation between languages is working but once I go to any of the two new languages I am unable to go back to the main language.

Thanks for your input!

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Multi-language site - error with one language

Post by imanickam » Sat Aug 14, 2021 2:46 am

Welcome to the Joomla! Forum!!