How to remove broken link in HTML source SP Page Builder? Topic is solved

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla! 3.x. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! 3.x extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
Torini
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon May 31, 2021 6:25 pm

How to remove broken link in HTML source SP Page Builder?

Post by Torini » Sun Jul 25, 2021 6:05 pm

A broken link can hurt rankings (at least some theory suggests).
Broken link online tool found a broken [youtube] link on a page of my site.
Problem is that long ago I have replaced the link with the correct one.
Source code still includes the broken link BUT I can't find a way to get rid of it.
SP Page Builder.

Any idea how to tackle this?

Thank you
:pop
Last edited by pe7er on Sun Jul 25, 2021 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Title has been changed to better reflect the topic

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 7030
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: How to remove broken link in HTML source SP Page Builder?

Post by AMurray » Sun Jul 25, 2021 9:43 pm

Is it just a direct link to YT, e.g. YT embed code, or is it using one the video add-on for SPPB? Is it a disabled add-on, row, column etc, or an unpublished page.....? Is it set as "mobile" or "tablet" only, or for "administrator"/"registered" users only or something like that?

Did that broken link checker identify the page it says it's on? What tool did you use? Is it a false positive maybe?

If the source code shows the link, can't you just remove it from the page it was on - clearly it's still there somehow. Does the page when viewed normally show it as a broken link?

Can you provide the page link on which the checker says it's a broken link?
Regards - A Murray

Torini
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon May 31, 2021 6:25 pm

Re: How to remove broken link in HTML source SP Page Builder?

Post by Torini » Mon Jul 26, 2021 2:39 pm

I haven't found a way to remove code from a page created with SPPB.

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 7030
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: How to remove broken link in HTML source SP Page Builder?

Post by AMurray » Mon Jul 26, 2021 9:41 pm

Normally you'd edit the content add on in SPPB -it should be there, in the GUI editor - or else check the coe view - SPPB should use your default editor as set in the Global config. You have said you already removed it, so I don't know why the link checker is telling you its still there.

Perhaps you need to resubmit the site to Google etc. A broken link on Google may still exist.

I don't use Google Webmaster tools suite but does it have any such link checker as you haven't mentioned what tool you used.
Regards - A Murray

Torini
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon May 31, 2021 6:25 pm

Re: How to remove broken link in HTML source SP Page Builder?

Post by Torini » Tue Jul 27, 2021 2:50 pm

checked
http://magos-paidika-party.com/copperfield
with
https://www.deadlinkchecker.com/website ... hecker.asp

Shows broken link...
BUT it's not there - I have fixed it a long time ago...

User avatar
Pavel-ww
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:17 pm

Re: How to remove broken link in HTML source SP Page Builder?

Post by Pavel-ww » Tue Jul 27, 2021 7:03 pm

Torini wrote:
Tue Jul 27, 2021 2:50 pm
checked
http://magos-paidika-party.com/copperfield
with
https://www.deadlinkchecker.com/website ... hecker.asp

Shows broken link...
BUT it's not there - I have fixed it a long time ago...
Hi. This link is in the Text Block addon, before [youtube] ambed code.
1.jpg

By the way, pay attention to my screenshot with developer tools and understand all the meaninglessness of turning off the right click. It only makes it difficult to help you, creates an excessive load for the site, leads to bugs in some cases and nothing else. I would recommend you disable it and never use.

Custom Cursor contradicts accessibility standards. If you make a site for people, not just for yourself, I would also recommend disable it. Especially since it uses JavaScript, although only CSS would be enough.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Torini
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon May 31, 2021 6:25 pm

Re: How to remove broken link in HTML source SP Page Builder?

Post by Torini » Wed Jul 28, 2021 4:26 pm

Thanks for the feedback.
Based on your insight I eventually found out how to edit the source code and fix it!
As far as the right-click and custom cursors are concerned, I will mock test with and without them to see what the Google and rest loading time tests show. I am very curious...

Thank you again!

gws
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4344
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: South coast, UK
Contact:

Re: How to remove broken link in HTML source SP Page Builder?

Post by gws » Wed Jul 28, 2021 4:44 pm

Pavel-ww is correct. Disabling the right click is totally pointless,it achieves nothing positive and can be defeated easily.

Torini
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon May 31, 2021 6:25 pm

Re: How to remove broken link in HTML source SP Page Builder?

Post by Torini » Thu Jul 29, 2021 10:58 am

I disabled right-click just fore design purposes.
I will test and report back!

Torini
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon May 31, 2021 6:25 pm

Re: How to remove broken link in HTML source SP Page Builder?

Post by Torini » Fri Aug 13, 2021 3:45 pm

Tested disabling custom cursor and sitespeed (Google Developers) showed no difference in rating.


Post Reply

Return to “Search Engine Optimization (Joomla! SEO) in Joomla! 3.x”