hyphenated web address

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla! 3.x. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! 3.x extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
gofer123
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

hyphenated web address

Postby gofer123 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:53 am

Hi Folks,
A site I have just published is ranking really badly when I search on just the company name. I'm not an SEO expert but I'm reasonably conversant with the basic and what I should be doing with Google like sitemap, verify site, install a SEO extension like SEOSimple make sure there is title and description but without much luck in the rankings. I was wondering if the hyphenated web address is causing the problem, e.g. www.company-abc.com Visitors wanting to find the company would be using the search phrase "company abc" would have to go to about page 8 in Google, needless to say my client is not too impressed.
Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks.
The site is Joomla! 3.8.2

gws
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: hyphenated web address

Postby gws » Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:13 am

gofer123
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Postby gofer123 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:36 pm

Thanks for that, will read through it.
Cheers

andy fev
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Postby andy fev » Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:13 pm

The hyphen is not a factor. Is the domain new? Are there other domains that exactly match "company abc", and have greater longevity? Is there relative content at the site that defines "company abc"?

In essence, there are numerous factors that will affect a new domain/site SERP, but the hyphen is not one.

gofer123
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Postby gofer123 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:40 pm