Site name affect SEO?

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla! 3.x. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! 3.x extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
jefit
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Site name affect SEO?

Post by jefit » Wed Jan 10, 2018 9:55 pm

Does 'Site Name' in Global Configuration/ Site Settings affect SEO? There are plenty of articles discussing the effect of domain name on SEO but I can't find anything about the effect of the 'site name'.
Thankyou
Last edited by toivo on Tue Feb 27, 2018 7:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: locked topic to stop attracting spam

artonweb
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Site name affect SEO?

Post by artonweb » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:05 pm

Site name affect SEO indeed, but is only one point of SEO strategy.
The most important things are backlinks and fresh content.

mandville
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by mandville » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:34 pm

you mean like promoting a keyword " blue smurfs " but hosting it on redsmurfs.com ? then yes. so to repeat the debate over various years and various formats, it doesnt hurt not to put it in, and it doesnt hurt to have the site name "blue smurfs appreciation society " on bluesmurfs.com , its all taste and if your content leader in search engines show a site description. but thats another debate for between the unicorns and the fairies.
HU2HY- Poor questions = Poor answer
Un requested Help PM's will be reported, added to the foe list and possibly just deleted
{VEL Team Leader}{TM Auditor }{ Showcase & Security forums Moderator}

libraweb
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling