meta description or text from the article?

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla! 3.x. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! 3.x extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
jefit
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

meta description or text from the article?

Post by jefit » Thu Jan 11, 2018 4:45 am

Sometimes a Google search result shows the article meta description and other times it shows an excerpt from the article. If all my articles have meta descriptions, why does Google pick and choose?

mjparadac
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: meta description or text from the article?

Post by mjparadac » Thu Jan 11, 2018 3:53 pm

Joomla Community Ambassador for A2 Hosting | A2 Hosting - Our speed, your success | https://www.a2hosting.com/joomla-hosting

jefit
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by jefit » Thu Jan 11, 2018 8:58 pm

Wow! Great links!
Thankyou so much!

kevinix
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by kevinix » Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:07 am

Well... If you do not have meta descriptions, Google extract content from your page and adds it. Check Google search console for duplicate meta descriptions.

dmorell
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by dmorell » Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:15 pm

Another thing you should consider is that Google recently changed the displayed meta description length. In the past, it was around 140 characters. Now, as of late 2017, I usually see it between 260 and 320.

According to Google's John Mueller if your site has a shorter meta description Google may pull a longer meta description to display from the content of the page.