Useful links page and SEO

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla! 3.x. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! 3.x extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
ita4012
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Useful links page and SEO

Postby ita4012 » Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:03 am

Hi. I have some "useful links" pages in my website, which show links to other websites urls. Some of these pages are very much appreciated by visitors, but I am wondering the impact of them on SEO.

First of all, I have been told that such pages are not good for my website, because they let visitors to stay on my webiste for a while, but they allow them to exit very fast from it, to go to another one, which is a non sense.

Secondly, those links relates my website reputation to that one of linked webisites, which is not always good, and that may impact on SEO.

So, how would you solve this matter. Is it enough to set "Index, no follow", in urls links and in my website page containing those links?

Thanks

sozzled
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: Useful links page and SEO

Postby sozzled » Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:53 pm

ita4012 wrote:First of all, I have been told that such pages are not good for my website ...
Who "told" you this and what makes you believe it? What authoritative source were yiu given. If you cannot provide that information then no-one can assist you.

ita4012 wrote:... those links relates my website reputation to that one of linked webisites, which is not always good, and that may impact on SEO.
I cannot understand this statement. It makes no sense to me.

ita4012 wrote:... how would you solve this matter?