Site does not get crawled by bing but google ist fine Topic is solved

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla! 3.x. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! 3.x extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
solarisuser
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Site does not get crawled by bing but google ist fine

Post by solarisuser » Sat Apr 16, 2022 5:03 pm

Hi all,
my site (using most recent joomla-4 version) does not get crawled by bing, despite of the fact that I requested crawling using bing-webmaster-tools several times already.

This site got crawled fine by google and the ranking meets expectations.

I've submitted sitemap.xml to bing serveral times already and it reported success for all 28 pages.

I've tested the URLs using bing-webmaster-tools and I see a difference between the options of
- submission of an URL-list of all 28 pages reports no error or warnings
- submission of the top-website URL (with subject to crawl the whole site) reports 24 warnings.
By checkiging the warnings I see strange URLs like https://DOMAIN/.../valtra-a-serie?view=article&id=4
instead of https://DOMAIN/.../valtra-a-serie as correctly referenced in sitemap.xml
Attempt to open the mentioned strange URL does not show the expected page ..../valtra-a-serie ,
but shows a random other page (e.g. impressum)

I'm not sure whether this strange behaviour represents the reason for the problem with the bing crawler, but I cannot see any other possible reason for.
I've opened already a ticket at bing-support, but they did not find a problem up to now.

Did I miss anything here ?
Thank you in advance, Fred

solarisuser
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice