can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Everything to do with Joomla! 3.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:27 am

I installed a new template but changed my mind about it. Now I am unable to load any template other than protostar. I can't even load beez3. When I try the radial dial indicates that it has been changed but when I bring the page up I see protostar. It also happens when I disable protostar in the manager. How is it displaying if it's disabled?
Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

User avatar
HZolfaghar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:10 am
Location: Iran
Contact:

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by HZolfaghar » Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:48 am

Hi
go to home menu (default menu )from menu manager.
check the Template Style option.

HZolfaghar ;)

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:17 pm

Thank you very much for your attempts to help me. However, that is the normal way to change a template. (with all due respect) I started using Joomla in 2007. If you notice (I Said)I have disabled all templates including protostar from the section extension/manager then option manager. But the protostar template is still being displayed. But again, Thank you very much.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 36120
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by Webdongle » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:02 pm

What did you do between installing the Template, changing your mind then the problem?
genetic wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:27 am
I installed a new template but changed my mind about it. Now I am unable to load any template other than protostar. ...
viewtopic.php?f=714&t=793531 please
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:32 pm

I did nothing but install the template, look at it and disapproved it. But now that I think about it I believe installing the template may have something to do with it. Because I remember not being able to bring back the template that was being displayed before until I deleted that template. Which after the default template was again being displayed. However now I only have one template installed it is not protostar but protostar is being displayed.


ps will check script thanks!

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 36120
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by Webdongle » Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:24 pm

Templates are not deleted they are uninstalled.
viewtopic.php?f=714&t=793531 please
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:16 pm

In the end, they are both removed from the system. So conversationally it, not a big deal.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 36120
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by Webdongle » Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:22 pm

It is a big deal because if they are not uninstalled correctly then that can break the site. Your site is broken so I ask again. viewtopic.php?f=714&t=793531 please
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:40 pm

Problem Description :: Forum Post Assistant (v1.4.5 (Ganymede)) : 6th December 2018 wrote:unable to switch templates
Actions Taken To Resolve by Forum Post Assistant (v1.4.5 (Ganymede)) 6th December 2018 wrote:(template being displayed is protostar)
Disable all but one template [including protostar] however protostar continues to be displayed on website
Forum Post Assistant (v1.4.5 (Ganymede)) : 6th December 2018 wrote:
Basic Environment :: wrote:Joomla! Instance :: Joomla! 3.9.1-Stable (Amani) 27-November-2018
Joomla! Platform :: Joomla Platform 13.1.0-Stable (Curiosity) 24-Apr-2013
Joomla! Configured :: Yes | Writable (644) | Owner: --protected-- . (uid: 1/gid: 1) | Group: --protected-- (gid: 1) | Valid For: 3.9
Configuration Options :: Offline: true | SEF: true | SEF Suffix: false | SEF ReWrite: false | .htaccess/web.config: Yes | GZip: false | Cache: false | CacheTime: 15 | CacheHandler: file | CachePlatformPrefix: false | FTP Layer: false | Proxy: false | LiveSite: | Session lifetime: 15 | Session handler: database | Shared sessions: false | SSL: 0 | Error Reporting: default | Site Debug: false | Language Debug: false | Default Access: 1 | Unicode Slugs: false | dbConnection Type: mysqli | PHP Supports J! 3.9.1: Yes | Database Credentials Present: Yes |

Host Configuration :: OS: Linux | OS Version: 3.16.0-ui18276.29-uiabi1-infong-amd64 | Technology: x86_64 | Web Server: Apache | Encoding: gzip, deflate | Doc Root: --protected-- | System TMP Writable: Yes | Free Disk Space : 1317.17 GiB |

PHP Configuration :: Version: 7.2.12 | PHP API: cgi-fcgi | Session Path Writable: Yes | Display Errors: 1 | Error Reporting: 22517 | Log Errors To: | Last Known Error: | Register Globals: | Magic Quotes: | Safe Mode: | Open Base: | Uploads: 1 | Max. Upload Size: 64M | Max. POST Size: 64M | Max. Input Time: -1 | Max. Execution Time: 50000 | Memory Limit: -1

Database Configuration :: Version: 5.5.60-0+deb7u1-log (Client:mysqlnd 5.0.12-dev - 20150407 - $Id: 38fea24f2847fa7519001be390c98ae0acafe387 $) | Host: --protected-- (--protected--) | Localhost: No | Collation: utf8_general_ci (Character Set: utf8) | Database Size: 30.05 MiB | #of Tables: 601
Detailed Environment :: wrote:PHP Extensions :: Core (7.2.12) | date (7.2.12) | libxml (7.2.12) | openssl (7.2.12) | pcre (7.2.12) | sqlite3 (7.2.12) | zlib (7.2.12) | bcmath (7.2.12) | bz2 (7.2.12) | calendar (7.2.12) | ctype (7.2.12) | curl (7.2.12) | dba (7.2.12) | dom (20031129) | hash (1.0) | fileinfo (1.0.5) | filter (7.2.12) | ftp (7.2.12) | gd (7.2.12) | gettext (7.2.12) | SPL (7.2.12) | iconv (7.2.12) | session (7.2.12) | intl (1.1.0) | json (1.6.0) | mbstring (7.2.12) | standard (7.2.12) | PDO (7.2.12) | mysqlnd (mysqlnd 5.0.12-dev - 20150407 - $Id: 38fea24f2847fa7519001be390c98ae0acafe387 $) | pdo_sqlite (7.2.12) | Phar (2.0.2) | posix (7.2.12) | Reflection (7.2.12) | imap (7.2.12) | shmop (7.2.12) | SimpleXML (7.2.12) | soap (7.2.12) | sodium (7.2.12) | pdo_mysql (7.2.12) | exif (7.2.12) | tidy (7.2.12) | tokenizer (7.2.12) | wddx (7.2.12) | xml (7.2.12) | xmlreader (7.2.12) | xmlwriter (7.2.12) | xsl (7.2.12) | zip (1.15.4) | mysqli (7.2.12) | cgi-fcgi () | Zend Engine (3.2.0) |
Potential Missing Extensions ::

Switch User Environment (Experimental) :: PHP CGI: Yes | Server SU: Yes | PHP SU: Yes | Custom SU (LiteSpeed/Cloud/Grid): Yes
Potential Ownership Issues: No
Folder Permissions :: wrote:Core Folders :: images/ (755) | components/ (755) | modules/ (755) | plugins/ (755) | language/ (755) | templates/ (755) | cache/ (755) | logs/ (---) | tmp/ (755) | administrator/components/ (755) | administrator/modules/ (755) | administrator/language/ (755) | administrator/templates/ (755) | administrator/logs/ (755) |

Elevated Permissions (First 10) ::
Database Information :: wrote:Database statistics :: Uptime: 6268539 | Threads: 7 | Questions: 2805645980 | Slow queries: 5803 | Opens: 74196659 | Flush tables: 1 | Open tables: 600 | Queries per second avg: 447.575 |
Extensions Discovered :: wrote:Components :: SITE ::
Core :: com_wrapper (3.0.0) 1 | com_mailto (3.0.0) 1 |
3rd Party:: WF_XHTMLXTRAS_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_VISUALCHARS_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_VISUALBLOCKS_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_TEXTCASE_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_TABLE_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_STYLESELECT_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_STYLE_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_SPELLCHECKER_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_SOURCE_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_SEARCHREPLACE_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_PRINT_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_PREVIEW_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_NONBREAKING_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_MEDIA_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_LISTS_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_LINK_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_LAYER_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_KITCHENSINK_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_INLINEPOPUPS_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_IMGMANAGER_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_HR_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_FULLSCREEN_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_FORMATSELECT_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_FONTSIZESELECT_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_FONTSELECT_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_FONTCOLOR_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_EMOTIONS_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_DIRECTIONALITY_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_CONTEXTMENU_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_CLIPBOARD_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_CLEANUP_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_CHARMAP_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_BROWSER_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_AUTOSAVE_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_ARTICLE_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_ANCHOR_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_LINK_SEARCH_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_POPUPS_JCEMEDIABOX_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_POPUPS_WINDOW_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_LINKS_JOOMLALINKS_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_FILESYSTEM_JOOMLA_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_AGGREGATOR_DAILYMOTION_TITL (2.6.33) 1 | WF_AGGREGATOR_VIMEO_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_AGGREGATOR_VINE_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | WF_AGGREGATOR_[youtube]_TITLE (2.6.33) 1 | kunena_tmpl_crypsisb3 (5.1.7) 1 | kunena_tmpl_crypsis (5.1.7) 1 |

Components :: ADMIN ::
Core :: com_privacy (3.9.0) 1 | com_actionlogs (3.9.0) 1 | com_users (3.0.0) 1 | com_templates (3.0.0) 1 | com_tags (3.1.0) 1 | com_search (3.0.0) 1 | com_redirect (3.0.0) 1 | com_postinstall (3.2.0) 1 | com_plugins (3.0.0) 1 | com_newsfeeds (3.0.0) 1 | com_modules (3.0.0) 1 | com_messages (3.0.0) 1 | com_menus (3.0.0) 1 | com_media (3.0.0) 1 | com_login (3.0.0) 1 | com_languages (3.0.0) 1 | com_joomlaupdate (3.6.2) 1 | com_installer (3.0.0) 1 | com_finder (3.0.0) 1 | com_fields (3.7.0) 1 | com_cpanel (3.0.0) 1 | com_contenthistory (3.2.0) 1 | com_content (3.0.0) 1 | com_config (3.0.0) 1 | com_checkin (3.0.0) 1 | com_categories (3.0.0) 1 | com_cache (3.0.0) 1 | com_banners (3.0.0) 1 | com_associations (3.7.0) 1 | com_ajax (3.2.0) 1 | com_admin (3.0.0) 1 |
3rd Party:: Akeeba (6.3.1) 1 | COM_JCE (2.6.33) 1 | uddeIM (4.0) 1 | Easy Image Rotator (2.0.6) 1 | com_kunena (5.1.7) 1 | plg_kunena_uddeim (5.1.7) 1 | plg_kunena_kunena (5.1.7) 1 | plg_kunena_joomla (5.1.7) 1 | plg_kunena_gravatar (5.1.7) 0 | plg_kunena_finder (5.1.7) 0 | plg_kunena_easysocial (5.1.7) 0 | PLG_KUNENA_EASYPROFILE (5.1.7) 0 | PLG_KUNENA_EASYBLOG (0.0.1) 1 | plg_kunena_comprofiler (5.1.7) 1 | plg_kunena_community (5.1.7) 0 | plg_kunena_altauserpoints (5.1.7) 0 | plg_finder_kunena (5.1.7) 1 | comprofiler (2.3.0) 1 | com_profiles (1.5.0) 1 |

Modules :: SITE ::
Core :: mod_wrapper (3.0.0) 1 | mod_whosonline (3.0.0) 1 | mod_users_latest (3.0.0) 1 | mod_tags_similar (3.1.0) 1 | mod_tags_popular (3.1.0) 1 | mod_syndicate (3.0.0) 1 | mod_stats (3.0.0) 1 | mod_search (3.0.0) 1 | mod_related_items (3.0.0) 1 | mod_random_image (3.0.0) 1 | mod_menu (3.0.0) 1 | mod_login (3.0.0) 1 | mod_languages (3.5.0) 1 | mod_footer (3.0.0) 1 | mod_finder (3.0.0) 1 | mod_feed (3.0.0) 1 | mod_custom (3.0.0) 1 | mod_breadcrumbs (3.0.0) 1 | mod_banners (3.0.0) 1 | mod_articles_popular (3.0.0) 1 | mod_articles_news (3.0.0) 1 | mod_articles_latest (3.0.0) 1 | mod_articles_category (3.0.0) 1 | mod_articles_categories (3.0.0) 1 | mod_articles_archive (3.0.0) 1 |
3rd Party:: HTML5 Media Player (1.0) 1 | Easy Image Rotator Module (2.0.6) 1 | Community Builder Workflows mo (2.3.0) 1 | Community Builder Online modul (2.3.0) 1 | Community Builder Login module (2.3.0) 1 |

Modules :: ADMIN ::
Core :: mod_latestactions (3.9.0) 1 | mod_privacy_dashboard (3.9.0) 1 | mod_version (3.0.0) 1 | mod_toolbar (3.0.0) 1 | mod_title (3.0.0) 1 | mod_submenu (3.0.0) 1 | mod_status (3.0.0) 1 | mod_stats_admin (3.0.0) 1 | mod_sampledata (3.8.0) 1 | mod_quickicon (3.0.0) 1 | mod_popular (3.0.0) 1 | mod_multilangstatus (3.0.0) 1 | mod_menu (3.0.0) 1 | mod_login (3.0.0) 1 | mod_logged (3.0.0) 1 | mod_latest (3.0.0) 1 | mod_feed (3.0.0) 1 | mod_custom (3.0.0) 1 |
3rd Party:: Community Builder Admin module (2.3.0) 1 |

Plugins :: SITE ::
Core :: PLG_ACTIONLOG_JOOMLA (3.9.0) 1 | plg_privacy_actionlogs (3.9.0) 1 | plg_privacy_user (3.9.0) 1 | plg_privacy_message (3.9.0) 1 | plg_privacy_content (3.9.0) 1 | plg_privacy_consents (3.9.0) 1 | plg_user_terms (3.9.0) 0 | plg_user_profile (3.0.0) 0 | plg_user_joomla (3.0.0) 1 | plg_user_contactcreator (3.0.0) 0 | plg_twofactorauth_yubikey (3.2.0) 0 | plg_twofactorauth_totp (3.2.0) 0 | PLG_SYSTEM_ACTIONLOGS (3.9.0) 0 | plg_system_privacyconsent (3.9.0) 0 | plg_system_logrotation (3.9.0) 1 | plg_system_updatenotification (3.5.0) 1 | plg_system_stats (3.5.0) 1 | plg_system_sessiongc (3.8.6) 1 | plg_system_sef (3.0.0) 1 | plg_system_remember (3.0.0) 1 | plg_system_redirect (3.0.0) 0 | plg_system_p3p (3.0.0) 0 | plg_system_logout (3.0.0) 1 | plg_system_log (3.0.0) 1 | plg_system_languagefilter (3.0.0) 0 | plg_system_languagecode (3.0.0) 0 | plg_system_highlight (3.0.0) 1 | plg_system_fields (3.7.0) 1 | plg_system_debug (3.0.0) 1 | plg_system_cache (3.0.0) 0 | plg_search_tags (3.0.0) 1 | plg_search_newsfeeds (3.0.0) 1 | plg_search_content (3.0.0) 1 | plg_search_contacts (3.0.0) 1 | plg_search_categories (3.0.0) 1 | plg_quickicon_privacycheck (3.9.0) 1 | plg_quickicon_phpversioncheck (3.7.0) 1 | plg_quickicon_joomlaupdate (3.0.0) 1 | plg_quickicon_extensionupdate (3.0.0) 1 | plg_installer_webinstaller (2.0.0-beta) 1 | PLG_INSTALLER_URLINSTALLER (3.6.0) 1 | plg_installer_packageinstaller (3.6.0) 1 | PLG_INSTALLER_FOLDERINSTALLER (3.6.0) 1 | plg_finder_tags (3.0.0) 1 | plg_finder_newsfeeds (3.0.0) 1 | plg_finder_content (3.0.0) 1 | plg_finder_contacts (3.0.0) 1 | plg_finder_categories (3.0.0) 1 | plg_fields_repeatable (3.9.0) 1 | plg_fields_usergrouplist (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_user (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_url (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_textarea (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_text (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_sql (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_radio (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_media (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_list (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_integer (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_imagelist (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_editor (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_color (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_checkboxes (3.7.0) 1 | plg_fields_calendar (3.7.0) 1 | plg_extension_joomla (3.0.0) 1 | plg_editors-xtd_readmore (3.0.0) 1 | plg_editors-xtd_pagebreak (3.0.0) 1 | plg_editors-xtd_module (3.5.0) 1 | plg_editors-xtd_menu (3.7.0) 1 | plg_editors-xtd_image (3.0.0) 1 | plg_editors-xtd_fields (3.7.0) 1 | plg_editors-xtd_article (3.0.0) 1 | plg_content_confirmconsent (3.9.0) 0 | plg_content_vote (3.0.0) 1 | plg_content_pagenavigation (3.0.0) 1 | plg_content_pagebreak (3.0.0) 1 | plg_content_loadmodule (3.0.0) 1 | plg_content_joomla (3.0.0) 1 | plg_content_finder (3.0.0) 0 | plg_content_fields (3.7.0) 1 | plg_content_emailcloak (3.0.0) 1 | plg_captcha_recaptcha_invisibl (3.8) 1 | plg_captcha_recaptcha (3.4.0) 1 | plg_authentication_ldap (3.0.0) 0 | plg_authentication_joomla (3.0.0) 1 | plg_authentication_gmail (3.0.0) 0 | plg_authentication_cookie (3.0.0) 1 |
3rd Party:: plg_kunena_finder (5.1.7) 0 | plg_kunena_joomla (5.1.7) 1 | plg_kunena_kunena (5.1.7) 1 | plg_kunena_gravatar (5.1.7) 0 | plg_kunena_easysocial (5.1.7) 0 | PLG_KUNENA_EASYPROFILE (5.1.7) 0 | plg_kunena_comprofiler (5.1.7) 1 | plg_kunena_community (5.1.7) 0 | plg_kunena_altauserpoints (5.1.7) 0 | PLG_SYSTEM_BACKUPONUPDATE (3.7) 0 | PLG_SYSTEM_AKEEBAUPDATECHECK (1.1) 0 | System - Helix Ultimate Framew (1.0.4) 1 | plg_system_jce (2.6.33) 1 | plg_system_kunena (5.1.7) 1 | Community Builder System plugi (2.3.0) 1 | System - True Typography (2.1.3) 1 | Search - Community Builder (2.1.0) 1 | plg_quickicon_akeebabackup (1.0) 1 | plg_quickicon_jce (2.6.33) 1 | plg_quickicon_kunena (5.1.7) 1 | plg_installer_jce (2.6.33) 1 | plg_finder_kunena (5.1.7) 1 | plg_fields_mediajce (2.6.33) 1 | plg_extension_jce (2.6.33) 1 | plg_editors_jce (2.6.33) 1 | PLG_EDITORS_TINYMCE_BOOTSTRAP (1.3) 1 | plg_editors_tinymce (4.5.9) 1 | plg_editors_codemirror (5.40.0) 1 | plg_content_jce (2.6.33) 1 | plg_content_kunenadiscuss (5.1.1) 0 | Content - Community Builder Au (2.0.1) 1 | AllVideos (by JoomlaWorks) (4.8.0) 1 | AllVideos (by JoomlaWorks) (4.8.0) 1 |
Templates Discovered :: wrote:Templates :: SITE :: hebe (1.0) 1 | Outsourcing-FJT (2.5.0) 1 | protostar (1.0) 1 | beez3 (3.1.0) 1 |
Templates :: ADMIN :: isis (1.0) 1 | hathor (3.0.0) 1 |

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:44 pm

The site template is set to hebe. However, the site is displaying protostar.

frostmakk
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 9:30 am
Location: Stavanger, Norway

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by frostmakk » Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:38 pm

Looks like the database is not in sync with the UI settings.
Open the table #_template_styles in phpMyAdmin or similar database tool, and change the field 'home' from 0 to 1 for the hebe template.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24955
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:12 pm

Is the Hebe template marked with a yellow star in the templates style tab?

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:35 pm

Thank You, however, that would be a workaround at best if in the database the template that I want to use was not already set to 1 in the home position. No, it is not marked as such.

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:56 pm

Image

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 36120
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by Webdongle » Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:12 pm

Joomla! Configured :: Yes | Writable (644) ... configuration.php should be 444
Save Global config then check configuration.php is 444 ... then see if Global config saves again or gives an error message.

Also the default Template should be underlined (in the fpa report) but it isn't ... that could be due to the way you 'deleted' the Template ?

With all your confusion you may have assigned Protostar to all menu items.

N.B.
Protostar will be used when the default Template can not be displayed.

Try
1. Components >>> Joomla update ... check for updates ... reinstall core files.
then
2. Extensions >>> Manage >>> Discover ... Discover ... install anything that is discovered.

Addendum
Beez3 is showing as default in the database. Try Extensions >>> Templates ... make a change and save. Then check the database.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Fri Dec 07, 2018 1:49 am

I reset permissions to 444 saved Global config without an error message. There seems to be some confusion I disabled the template not uninstalled it. But at the time of the report, the template was enabled. Anyway, Joomla reports No updates available. Reinstall core files. I have no idea how that would be done. Where are the copies of the core files kept?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 36120
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by Webdongle » Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:44 pm

If you PM me a Super Admin login then I could take a quick 1st hand look ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:12 am

done

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 36120
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by Webdongle » Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:18 am

Don''t have any PM's showing
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Sat Dec 08, 2018 1:18 pm

(Attempt 2) states message sent.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 36120
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by Webdongle » Sat Dec 08, 2018 1:22 pm

Yep it contains user/pass but not the url
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:51 pm


User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 36120
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by Webdongle » Sat Dec 08, 2018 5:03 pm

Warning
Username and password do not match or you do not have an account yet.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:22 pm

just notice username first letter is a capital
same username password now memory
no big deal it's a backup of a backup which will be deleted.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 36120
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by Webdongle » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:54 pm

Usernames are NOT case sensitive. Still cant log in
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:03 pm

I don't know what to say to that. Can you please tell me what username and password you are using. As I said it is a back of my backup which will be deleted after the issue is found.
should be
Webdongle
memory

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6054
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by sozzled » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:10 pm

Although it is a bad idea to post the login information (in plain text) on a public forum, the credentials provided in the previous post are incorrect. I would ask the OP to check the information themselves (try to login to the /administrator website) by typing the exact same username and password posted on the forum. I think the OP will discover that this will not work.

@Webdongle is correct: usernames are not case-sensitive (so it doesn't matter if the first character—or any character—is capitalised). Passwords are case-sensitive.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

genetic
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by genetic » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:27 pm

OK, first I would like to say thank you for your concern and if this were a database and CMS that I intended to use in the future then your concerns would be justified. However, this database will be deleted. I don't see how that can cause a problem to anything other than this database, which is a backup. If that is incorrect then I would be honored to find out how. But here is the thing I have gone to another computer (same connection) and have logged in. But I see that the two of you can not. If you are unable to log in I will delete the user. I am at my wit's end.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6054
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by sozzled » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:31 pm

genetic wrote:
Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:27 pm
But here is the thing I have gone to another computer (same connection) and have logged in.
Just wait a moment. Did you go to the other computer; did you physically type the username posted earlier and physically type the password you posted earlier? And, even if you didn't physically type these things (and relied on previously entered login credentials stored in your web browser), can you login as the system administrator on that website, change the password and then login? These matters are somewhat important.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 36120
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: can't switch templates from protostar to anything

Post by Webdongle » Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:00 pm

Neither the login genetic posted here or in the PM that he sent me works.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein


Post Reply

Return to “Templates for Joomla! 3.x”